It’s On!

Are you ready?

Thread?

Zippers?

Scissors?

Patterns?

And most important – FABRIC???




It’s time for the PUT IT IN THE BAG CHALLENGE PEOPLE!

Just in case you forgot…here are the details:

  • Challenge Dates: September 1 – 30, 2012
  • This will be a three bag challenge.
  • This is a sewing challenge. The bodies of the bags have to be sewn – not knitted or crocheted.
  • Categories:
    • Tote Bag – This bag should be able to hold at least three skeins of Red Heart Super Saver yarn easily and have at least one handle (the handles can be handmade or store bought). Having a closure is optional for this bag.
    • Drawstring – This bag should have a drawstring closure and be able to hold at least one ball of sock yarn and a set of 6 inch dpns easily.
    • Zippered – This bag should have a zipper as its main closure. It can be any size – coin purse to beach tote.
  • At least one bag has to be fully lined.
  • This is a three bag challenge. Any one bag can overlap any of the three categories but it can only count for one category. For example, a bag can be a tote bag and have a zipper closure but it can only fulfill one challenge category – tote or zippered – but not both.

You didn’t forget did you?

Tell me I wasn’t the only one that stalked bag tutorials on Pinterest like a crazy person!!! Orrrrr, that I wasn’t the only one that dropped a small fortune on more fabric, notions and whatnot than I needed to complete this challenge?????

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kaiya
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 22:04:35

    Oh my – what a beautiful fabric selection! I don’t sew, myself, but I’m looking forward to seeing whet everyone else turns out!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:07:43

      Thanks!!! Its been a ton of fun (and a bit expensive) to gather all of it.
      I’ve already finished my first bag! Keep an eye out – there should be a post up soon about it.

      Reply

  2. bapsi
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 22:56:56

    wow nice fabrics! i’m terrible at handsewing, and have had a really hard time finding a good machine [and the funds for it] but i have indeed been stockpiling those bag tutorials for the day that i finally do get to sewing successfully!
    wishing the best of luck for you with that challenge, i’m sure you’ll make 3 really beautiful bags!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:14:17

      Thanks!!!

      I highly suggest the Brothers digital sewing machines. They have some really good machines at really good prices. They even have one that’s Project Runway themed. Walmart carries a few of them too. Oh, even IKEA carries a sewing machine that gets the job done for a really decent price (don’t quote me on that one though…I’ve never tested it and I think its $100). This is the one I have and love and found for a crazy good price – https://cheletopia.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/sew-fancy/

      Reply

  3. Alicia
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 09:02:06

    I just found your blog through Ravelry can I join in my sewing skills are limited but I love to challenge myself.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:18:38

      Yes!!! Feel free to join the fun!!!

      This challenge is posted in the group. Feel free to chat it up on the boards and post your FO’s on the challenge thread. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Three Bag Challenge « craftgirl78
  5. Anna Victoria
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 11:32:17

    Can you tell me how big are the red heart yarn/skeins? Are they like supersize or something? LOL Just trying to figure out the size… LOL

    I think I betta get cracking!

    Reply

Leave a comment