Attempting A Monogamous Life

For the most part, I’m not a monogamous knitter/crocheter. I usually have noooo problem working on a million projects at one time. Just a yarnie project ho.


Right now I’m at 5 works in progress (WIPs; and no the craft room doesn’t count). But trust me, this hasn’t always been the case. I’m not saying I let it get crazy but it’s been more than I’ve been comfortable with more often than not.

Recently, my friend Eve (over at pandorra7) came across a post over at lladybird.com where she talks about how she gets sooooo much done. Now if you don’t know lladybird you need to get your ass over to her site. SHE’S AMAZING. She’s cranks out beautiful work and in mass amounts (sewing and knitting). All of her stuff is so cute and so is she. I read her post titled “How Do You Find The Time To Sew So Much.” Although this post is jammed packed with good advice that applies to all crafty folks, one of the points really stuck with me: She’s doesn’t have any UFOs (unfinished objects). She starts something, then she finishes it.

Crazy freakin’ talk. This is the complete opposite of my usual M.O. > Start all the shit all the time. Clearly this isn’t working for me, total productivity killer. I start all the stuff and I never get anything done.

Time for a change. I’m still going to start stuff, but I’m going to start focusing on what I’m working on and finish the stuff I start beeeefore starting something new. I’m thinking maybe one (monogamous living) or two projects at a time.  I know two at a time doesn’t qualify as monogamous, but its a start!!!

To do this I figured I had to get my WIP count dooooooown. First I had my friend Eve frog my Modern Garden Cardigan.


Trust me, this is a lovely knit. Easy, fast and gives wonderful results, but I simply wasn’t inspired to finish it at all (it’s been on the needles for over 2 years!). I’d been debating frogging it for some time and I finally just handed the incomplete project over to Eve one night and said “It needs to be done. Can you do it for me? I just can’t bear to rip out all of that work.”

And rip it out she did!


Second, I wrapped up my Sockhead Hat (notes on it here):


Now I’m working on my Elise Shawl (my project > Raisin in the Sun):


To be honest I have nooooo idea why I stopped working on this months ago. I’m making it out of Malabrigo and its freakin’ amazaballs. Soft, great color and just a sheer pleasure to work with. Secondly, this shawl is done in crochet and moves along at a fairly decent clip. Hopefully I will have this finished by the end of this week (I’m slow moving due to a cold and just being worn out by work).

I’m not sure what I want to work on after this shawl though. I’m debating between polishing off my Hug Me Socks or my Metallurgy Shawl. I love the Metallurgy Shawl but the lace pattern is very complex (for me at least) and each row of lace takes a ton of concentration and time for me. The Hug Me socks are a little boring to work on but the finished project will be awesome – you can’t beat a merino wool/cashmere/nylon sock!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anastasiamw
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 04:26:14

    Your projects look great! I too need to start being more monogamous with my projects. I very easily start a new pattern the second I’m done with one, even though there’s a shelf full of WIPs I need to be working on.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Just A Few Good WIPs | cheletopia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

