Raisin in the Sun


Pattern: Elise Shawl by Evan Plevinski (my project: Raisin in the Sun)
Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Sock
Colorway: Velvet Grapes
Fiber Content: 100% Merino Wool
Hook: US I (Boye)
Dates: January 8 to October 30, 2013
Skills: chain stitch and single/double/triple crochet stitches

Notes: This shawl came about because as much as I looove Malabrigo sock yarn I was warned that it doesn’t hold up particularly well as socks. I’m already a fickle sock knitter so putting a ton of time into a pair that might wear out quickly didn’t appeal to me at all. This yarn is also slightly tonal and I was afraid the light spots would pool in a knitted shawl or hat. Soooo, after hunting around I came up with the idea of doing a crocheted shawl and found the Elise Shawl. And as usual…Great Yarn + Great Pattern = Fabulous Finished Object!


I have to say that it blocked out quite nicely. It was tiny when I finished the border but it blocked to the exact size that I wanted. It was a quick blocking job too. I used my Inspinknity blocking wires for the borders and two straightened wire hangers for the straight part of the top. Under 20 minutes from start to finish!


6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daisy
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 19:28:48

    That’s gorgeous!

    Reply

  2. Ellen Bloom
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 12:37:14

    Elise is one of my FAVORITE patterns. I’ve crocheted it numerous times! Your Elise Shawl looks GORGEOUS in this yarn. Nice blocking work too!

    Reply

  3. Corey
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 13:55:45

    yes, the shawl is da’ bomb but your hair. I love how you styled your hair in these pictures. Very pretty. The shawl only enhances your beauty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

