So much! So much!

I’m not a yarn snob. I like all sorts of yarn – I’m more of an equal opportunity yarn user. Red Heart, Malabrigo, Vanna’s Choice, MadTosh…and don’t even get me started on my favorite indie dyers. I love them all! But in cleaning/organizing my craft room recently, I came across an unusual amount of Caron Simply Soft. At first it wasn’t that bad.

I sat down one night and weighted/measured and stashed it all in my Ravelry account.

But then a few partial skeins/balls/cakes materialized.

Then some baby balls appeared.

Thennnnnnn all yarnie hell broke loose.

Whyyyyyy do I have so much Caron Simply Soft (and a few skeins of discontinued Rhapsody which is very similar to CSS)??? WHAT. THE. HELL. It’s like I own stock in the company!

Not going to lie, I love the stuff! Is it full on acrylic? Yup. Is it terribly soft and super versatile? Yooooou betcha! Because it’s so soft and a good weight (depending on who you ask: dk/worsted/aran) I really like using it for baby blankets and beanies. Even though I’m probably going to make a couple of blankets out of this stuff, I’m definitely going to work up some charity beanies. It’s nice and soft and gentle enough for the sensitive scalps of chemo patients and many charities list CSS as an acceptable yarn for donations. I’ve decided on sending some to both Knots of Love and Halos for Hope.

But while I eek out a beanie here and a beanie there, I will just stash it along with my other acrylic yarn…

Acrylic yarn and puppy butt. There you go.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pandorra7
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 20:36:43

    Puppy Butt!!!

    Reply

  2. britney
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 09:31:20

    that’s one heck of a lot of simply soft.

    Reply

  3. Ellen B.
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 10:40:35

    I see a stash-buster, granny square afghan in your future!

    Reply

  4. EweCreekCottage
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 18:01:09

    Chele I keep putting my acrylics in the donate box and pulling them back out and I have 6 full and 6 partial skeins ofCSS 4 I just bought last week lol I hots me a problem too! #caredontcare

    Reply

  5. EweCreekCottage
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 18:02:28

    Hots-gots dang AC

    Reply

  6. Debbie
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 17:59:05

    Hi, Sorry to ask this, but I have had so much trouble with my Brother sewing machine like your old one and have to buyt a new one. How do you like the Singer machine you got in 2012? I googled trouble with my Brother machine and got your blog. PS. You sure are creative!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 14, 2014 @ 03:33:37

      Thanks! :-)

      I love my Singer! It has more stitches than my old Brother machine and it runs quite nicely. I really enjoy using it when I sew. I also like that it has a better warranty and repair program than Brother (and there are more repair locations too). I will probably stick with Singer in the future. I just really like the brand and their machines. :-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

