Baker’s Dozen Review (2010-2011)

12 months, 12 different motifs, 13 different recipients from around the country and Canada (hence the bakers dozen part).

Basically, 13 people sign up for each BD group. Each group member has to knit or crochet one 12 inch square per month to send to the Member of the Month (MOM). Come your month, you get to sit back and wait for your 12 blocks to roll-in in the weight and color scheme of your choice. The above are the 12 squares I made for my fellow BD members over the last year.

I have to say that it was fun, but it was a challenge to find 12×12 patterns that I liked to go with each participants color and weight choices. But, I have to say, I really like all the squares that I made! Even though I wasn’t a huge fan of some of the color combinations at first, I think they all came together nicely in the end.

This is my finished project from all of the squares that I received during my month (I was the June 2010 MOM).

This project, my dear friends, was a learning experience. Trust me when I say that pulling together others people’s work into one cohesive piece is not a sport for the timid or the weak. I received knit, crochet, and cro-knit pieces. Some were actually 12×12 squares, some were rectangles, some were small, some were big, some were green, some were pink, some were pink and green! Even though it took some thought and time to pull this whole thing together, I couldn’t be more pleased with the results. I love it so! I sleep under it every night and Bailey likes to cuddle with it also (hence why I’m making him his own blankie).

Although this was a great time and I love all of the results, I did not sign up for a second round. Towards the end of this swap I fell behind by a number of months. To catch up, I had to put a number of my personal projects on hold so that I could wrap this swap up. I don’t want to go through that again. Plus, I want to spend more time focusing on more personal projects for me and my friends/family and I want to take the time to learn some new techniques too.

Trust me though…its hard for me to say no to joining a swap. I’m sure I will get suckered into another swap sooner than I planned! Seriously, Eve and I just started our own swap for dishcloths makin’ folks.

There’s no yarnie hope for me…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. northernnarratives
    May 26, 2011 @ 12:04:55

    Wow, your blanket is simply gorgeous! I can imagine the challenge of putting together all the pieces. It looks like so much fun. Judy

    Reply

  2. Ellen B.
    May 27, 2011 @ 12:51:32

    Michelle, The afghan turned out beautifully! You did a great job of bordering and joining the squares!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Baker’s Dozen Pillow « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

