My Pop Life


Yup. That’s right. I’m at the 100.3 The Sound offices with a GIANT $1000 check with my name on it.

Back on May 13th, I took the day off work to hang out with VW and I was walking thru my house when I heard my radio say “…Michele A****** of Torrance…” I was like, “Hey, I’m Michele A****** of Torrance. HOLLLLY CRAP I GOTTA CALL IN!!!!” (FYI….if you’re a Soundboard Member and they thank you over the air at either 9am, 2pm or 5pm and you call in within 10 minutes…BAM $1000!). After calling the station FOUR times I finally got thru – to LARRY FREAKIN’ MORGAN – and verified my information. And wouldn’t you know it, I won $1000!!! THEN! THEN! He told me I won tickets to see Stevie Nicks!! WoooooHoooo – GOLD DUST WOMAN IS MY JAM (Well did she make you cry? Make you breakdown? Shatter your illusions of love?)!!!! WOOOOHOOOOO!!! I KNEW I LOVED THE SOUND!!!

So I took a long lunch a couple of weeks later and drove down to the offices thinking I would take a picture with the giant check, collect my check and then head on back to work. Whatev! Such a much better story than that!

First of all, when did I sign up for this bullpoop?


Is their gas laced with gold? Crack? Chocolate? It better have something goin’ on because you must think I’m DRUNK AS HELL if I’m going to pay almost $5 a gallon for gas. DRUNK. AS. HELL. I have a 13.8 gallon gas tank. That’s like $60!!! Do I look high? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Then, after collecting my check I realized that there were FOOD TRUCKS in front of the building that houses The Sound. FOOOOOOOD TRUCKS!!! Hamburgers, fry bread, cupcakes, etc….Some of these trucks even take credit and debit cards (of course they do! no one carries cash here!).


I wasn’t sure what I was going to get until I saw the Street Kitchen menu. Can we say Jerk Chicken Tacos? Two please. Thanks.

Then…well lookie here! It’s LACMA.


Can’t just not visit LACMA when it’s right there, right? Let’s just cross the street and take a few pics…


*turns around* Hello there Variety Building!


I finally made my way back to work (while eating tacos at red lights), got thru the rest of the work day, fed and walked the puppy and made my way up to the Wiltern to see Stevie Nicks with Carina.


Stevie was great! Admittedly I’m not a superfan or anything, but I do like her and Fleetwood Mac. And, even though the Wiltern is a HORRIBLE venue (standing for 2 hours is not fun – hello taller people standing in front of me while I’m wearing flats! can’t see thru you!), Stevie was wonderful. She sounded like she did when she was recording back in the 70’s and 80’s. I also love how all her costume changes consisted of her changing shawls! So 70’s! It was great!

I gotta admit too, seeing her in concert turned me on to a couple of songs of hers I’ve never heard of before….Sorcerer and a song I didn’t catch the title of and I couldn’t figure it out by the titles listed on Amazon from her or Fleetwood Mac…Something about saving my life in the chorus??? Help me out here people.

But wait! There’s more! I was walking my dog Friday afternoon when I got a text from my friend Brian:


Prince – tomorrow night (Saturday) – 1 ticket with your name on it. It’s on me – Merry Christmas 😉 Can you make it – just let me know asap – xxoo Brian.

So, yes, the day after seeing Stevie Nicks, I got invited to see PRINCE. He was still in town for a couple of days on his 21 Nite Stand Tour and my friend Bri had 4 tickets. IT WAS AWESOME!!! That man can put on a show! And can you believe, Mary J Blige and Maceo Parker were the special guests that night? We walked in as Mary was singing No More Drama (WHICH I LOVE). It was AMAZING. Prince is still amazingly at the top of his game. The man was killing it with Pop Life, 1999, Little Red Corvette, Purple Rain, Cream, Hollywood (Inglewood) Swingin’ – all the old jams! I especially loved it when he was doing a Jackson 5 song and midway thru the song he says, “Hold up, this is my joint!” and danced off to jam on his guitar. The man obviously still loves what he’s doing and he loves his fans. He puts on a hell of a show. It was easily the best concert I’ve ever attended.

Pop life…Everybody needs a thrill…Pop life…We’ve all got a space to fill…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. napiligal
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 20:33:19

    Good for you!! My niece was at the Prince concert too! Good things can happen to good people!

    Reply

  2. joyce
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 09:32:56

    wow, are you having a streak of good luck or what??!! I think you should have played the lottery that day too!I just found your blog through ravelry, and I love it. And I’m very jealous about the Prince concert.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 21:38:59

      AHHH!!! I should have totally gotten a lottery ticket!!!
      I’m not going to lie – the Prince concert was a-w-e-s-o-m-e!!! If you ever get a chance to see him DO IT.

      (Don’t you just love Ravelry!!!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

