Good Find at the Goodwill

First things first, I’m not above shopping at the Goodwill – not at all. A good portion of my clothing and the majority of my books came from the Goodwill as a child and well into my teenage years. And really, you can get some great deals on some really awesome items there.

Secondly, I love my little fur man and he’s totally sweet and adorable, but his love for my couch makes me crazy. He complete destroyed one of the back cushions (had 7, then I was randomly down to 6), chewed on both armrest and all of the sitting cushions have sizeable holes in them. Hot, hot mess.

So, originally I was planning to reupholster my well chewed couch over the summer. I’m skilled with a sewing machine and making pillows and such isn’t difficult for me. But, honestly, I wasn’t at all jazzed about tackling this project – not only would it be costly, even in pieces, it would totally interrupt my knitting and crocheting plans.

Enter the Goodwill. After buying some new (and much needed) Adidas on a Saturday afternoon, I wondered over to the nearby Goodwill. I was looking for a party dress and some jeans when I wander over to the furniture/home items area…Wouldn’t you know it, there sat a lovely olive colored couch. While taking a look at it I thought to myself “This is nice. I hope it’s under $300.” Then I saw the price and almost fell over. I called a sales person over to make sure that what I was seeing was correct – “Excuse me! Excuse me! Is this price correct?” We looked and looked for the second backup price tag and eventually verified the price. I called my dad and told him about my sweet find, paid for it and did a dance of ridiculous happiness!

How much did I pay for this little find you ask? Wait for it…waaaaaaaaaaittttt…$49.99.

CAN YOU BELIEVE?!?!?!

I ended up getting a cute black party dress, a lightweight Old Navy jacket and a freakin’ couch all for under $70.00.

Winning!

So, without further ado, I introduce to you, Sofia, my new sofa!!!!


Isn’t God good?  =D

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. napiligal
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 17:45:32

    Isn’t God good =) All The Time!

    Great find. Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. bigmonkeypie
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 15:47:45

    Awesome find! We’re still happily sitting on a $29 loveseat after almost 6 years. Kitty has claws and we could see no reason to spend real couch money. Gotta love Goodwill.

    Reply

  3. Kristen
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 00:09:40

    Wow! Great deal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

