Regimen Shegimen – A Work in Progress

So I thought I had a regimen down for my hair. Not so much.

After I posted my Team Natural post I got some comments from the girls over in the Naturally Curly Crafter girls on Ravelry about the ingredients in my conditioner. I was already not a fan of some the ingredients, but the –cone content caught the eye of some and I was informed that they are no good for the curly girl (they coat the hair and are almost impossible to wash out with anything other than shampoos that contain SLS – which I don’t use). I also felt that I needed a thicker and creamier conditioner anyway and a curly girl friendly clarifying shampoo. So, after much youtube surfing, internet googling, actual brick and mortar shopping, some experimenting and the tossing of some noncurly girl friendly products, here’s my new product list:

  • Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut Conditioner
  • SheaMoisiture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Conditioner
  • SheaMoisiture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Shampoo
  • Kimmaytube’s Leave-in Conditioner potion
  • Kinky Curly Knot Today Leave-in Conditioner
  • Now Food’s Shea Butter

Shampooing – I’m still using the Suave Naturals Tropical Coconut Conditioner as my co-poo. It’s so awesome. It cleans, softens and, as I found out the other night, provides more than enough slip for a serious detangling session. I add the SheaMoisture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Shampoo to the mix if I feel like there is serious build-up going on. Will it be my clarifying shampoo? Don’t know….maybe if I add a little squirt of Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap. I’ve done that with awesome results, I just worry because the ph balance is super high for the Dr. Bronner’s. Will research…

Conditioning – I love the SheaMoisture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Conditioner! Love. Leaves my hair super soft and fabulous with no -cones! I’m running thru this stuff because I use a lot of product when I condition to make sure that every strand is coated. Its only $10 a pop so it’s not so bad if the results are consistent (I’ve paid much more for inferior results – sorry Bumble and bumble, so not worth the money!).

Leave-in Conditioner and Sealant – I’ve tried a number of leave-ins in my time and I have to say that I’m pretty in love with the Kimmaytube leave-in conditioner. It’s a good balance of moisture and oils and its super easy to make and store (in the fridge to extend shelf life). Love the aloe vera juice component – so healthy! I’ve tried a number of oils as a sealant but I wasn’t sold on anything until I tried the straight shea butter. It makes my hair really soft without making it oily (even though I put a ton of it on my hair in one section on accident – I so wasn’t paying attention!).

I’ve been transitioning for just under 3 months now and the one thing I’ve noticed about my hair is that it doesn’t like a lot of product. I never used a ton of products on my relaxed hair but I was always putting a little bit of this and a little bit of that in my hair. I’m noticing now that my hair likes it simple. Figures. Doesn’t my hair know that I’m a product junkie!!!

Ahhhh, such a work in progress…my regimen and my hair (hell, me in general)!

Leave a Reply

