Dating Story #59798473

So I went on a blind date last week with this guy after talking via email for a couple of weeks.  I didn’t give him my phone number because right now talking on the phone is not my thing (SO BUSY and I told him this) and I just had a feeling that I shouldn’t give this guy my number until after we met.  

We went to dinner at Houston’s for our first meeting/blind date.  He was very intense.  He kept telling me how he was such a great man, how if I passed on him I would be missing out on such a good thing, how he wanted to learn more about me (but he never asked me any questions), etc, etc.

After dinner he was very insistent about going to his car instead of walking me to my car.  (Helllllo! Don’t know you!  Dark, semi empty parking lot at 10pm at night! Hello!).  Against my better judgment, I went with him to his car and he gave me a box of Junior Mints.  An opened, half eaten box of Junior Mints.  When he finally walked me to my car, he kissed me (which was fine-ish) but when I clearly wanted him to let go of me he wouldn’t let me loose.  I literally had to tug and shake my way out of his grasp.

I called him the next night and he told me that he was very disturbed by how our date ended and that he was up to 6am the next morning thinking about it.  I told him that I thought he was a little intense in general and definitely too intense for me.  He continued to talk about how he hasn’t dated in 3 years and wasn’t socialized in the whole dating world anymore and how he’s a great guy, how if I passed on him I would be missing out on a good thing, blah, blah, blah…for an hour.  

Then the next morning around 7am he texted me, “Can I have a kiss?” I didn’t answer his text.

He called a few hours later but I didn’t answer or listen to the voice mail he left me.

Stupid cell phone caller ID.

I get to work this morning and I get this email from him:

Seriously, I very clearly said over dinner, “I’m pretty much an open book. You can ask me whatever you want.” What do you want – my bank account number?

He has an 18 year old daughter. Would he be okay with her getting in some random dude’s car?

Living a double life?  When did I start getting that kind of sleep?

What’s with all of the emoticons?

And most important, what the hell happened to the other half of the Junior Mints?!?!?


12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 02:04:55

    Sounds like a scarey man !!! Although I am lol at the half eaten box of junior mints 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ellen Bloom
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:01:19

    Whoa! I’d steer clear of this buy, Michelle! He sounds a bit nutzo to me. Glad you used your better judgement and held off.

    It just makes me mad when guys say they want to know more about you and then spend the entire evening talking about themselves. Face it, most men just LOVE talking about themselves. I know this from vast experience!!! Once I know I’m not interested in a guy, I used to cut them off and say, “Hey, here’s what I’ve been doing for the past week…blah, blah, blah…you said you were interested.”

    There are more fish out there in the sea. Wait for the next one to swim by!

    Reply

  3. Charlotte
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:32:10

    Reply

  4. Charlotte
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 12:43:22

    The reply should be…
    People like you are the reason:
    I drink at home & not on my dates
    I carry pepper spray
    I am ordering a life hammer
    I Don’t let people pick me up from my house for dates
    I Don’t give my number out
    I Don’t eat already opened half eaten boxes of candy
    Restraining orders were created
    Watch lists are formed
    Women don’t go to the ladies room alone

    I could go on but I’m in the process of ordering my own pepper spray & life hammer in case I ever come in contact with anyone like him.

    Reply

  5. Corey
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 13:06:24

    Laughing my butt off! Paranoid? Standoffish? And what is up with that half eaten box of Junior Mints? What a freak. Loser.

    Reply

  6. Keri
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 04:49:26

    Wow. Creepy. Run and always carry your knitting needles. They’re pointy and could do some damage.

    Reply

  7. Nadia
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 10:24:02

    You know you did the right thing by stopping it before anything started. It’s experience you can learn from and move on to the next new date. Good luck.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 09:24:12

      I’m all about putting on the brakes when things look creepy and/or crazy. I want nothing to do with anything like that!!!

      *fingers crossed for next date with someone WAY BETTER*

      Reply

  8. Trackback: EPISODE 7 – EVIL CLOWN ZIPPERS « SkeinAfterSkein
  9. Jenifer Franklin
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 21:06:21

    sounds like one of my blind dates

    Reply

Leave a Reply

