Turned Square

Because I’ve been eyeing the pattern forever, I finally made this uber cute hat!

Pattern: Turn A Square
Yarn:
Caron Vickie Howell Sheep(ish)
Colorway: Plum(ish) and Coral(ish)
Needles: US 5 (circulars) and US 7 (circulars and dpns)
Size: Average Noggin’ Size

Notes: The instructions regarding making the jogless stripe color changes were not a clear as they could be. I knit 50% of this hat before I finaaaaaally got what they meant (totally on accident). I then had to frog all the way down to the ribbing and redo it. I hate frogging but it looked janky as hell. I have to admit though, it’s a cool technique and it does make the color change less obvious in the end.

Also, is it me or is this hat a little on the bright(ish) side? When I was all finished with this little number, I looked at it and thought “Well helllllo there bright little striped hat!” Then I realized that I have a hoodie in the exact same colors. What does that say about me? Should I be concerned? I also feel like these colors belong to some college or pro football team. You have to admit, it does have a go-sit-in-the-stands-and-cheer-on-your-team feel to it.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 16:33:58

    Love the Turn the Square pattern. I think it is my all time favorite hat to knit. Yours is great with all that color. It will be a great pick me up on some of those dreary winter days.

    Reply

  2. MindingMyOwnStitches
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 19:05:53

    When I started blogging I soon realized that almost every knitting photo featured green yarn. Hmmm, green day after day after day. What does that say about me?

    I like the bright colours of your hat!

    Reply

  3. Dorothy
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 22:54:57

    Love the hat and no, the colours aren’t too bright. They look great together. I’d like to try that pattern but am hopeless with dpn’s. 😦

    Reply

  4. Hazel McTaggart
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 00:45:46

    That is very cute!! I love stripes, it looks so cooosy!

    Reply

  5. Underground Crafter
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 19:05:57

    Never be ashamed of your love of bright colors! It looks great.

    Reply

  6. sandy
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 05:31:37

    Love the bright colors together, they’re happy. Think a teenage girl would love them.

    Reply

  7. Liz
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 07:45:04

    I love your hat! The colours look great together. 😀

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 08:05:36

    I think your tendency towards the colors means you know what you like! Very cute hat!

    Reply

  9. Kristen
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 10:11:05

    I like the hat. As far as sports teams go – it’s not a football team, but your hat does look like you could be a Phoenix Suns basketball fan!

    Reply

  10. babygreens
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 12:27:08

    That’s such a pretty hat! I know what you mean about bright colours – I was looking at a guy in the supermarket this morning in a huge bright orange top. “That’s a bit bright” I thought, then realised that I was wearing a bright red cord coat. I bet we burned the eyeballs out of whoever was watching the security cameras. Anyway, lovely hat!

    Reply

  11. Kepanie
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 14:14:46

    It’s a great hat! Love the brightness and the combo!
    How do you like that yarn? I haven’t really seen it around yet.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 21:24:31

      Thanks!
      About the yarn…I’m on the fence about it to be honest. I love the color selection but its a little splitty and a little fuzzy. I think the spliting may have been my fault though (and the size of the needles). I think its a good yarn if you like things to have that “halo” thing going on. I will probably use it again but for a sweater that I want to have that “fuzzy lovin’ come give me a hug” look to it.

      Reply

  12. Kepanie
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 14:15:37

    Oh, I totally LOL’d at, “…but it looked janky as hell.” I use that term once in awhile also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

