Demolicious

Because I have wonderful family and friends, a number of people have come by and helped me paint my place. During all of the priming and cutting and painting and smack talking, a number of people commented on the cabinet that hung over the bar and divided the kitchen from the dining room (blocked the kitchen from the dining room and vice-versa would be more accurate). My favorite comment came from my friend Eva “Its cool, but its gotta go.” (Said in one breath and without hesitation – love her!)

And go it did!

Before…


(Sorry for the dark pictures but I was coping and trying to take pictures at the same time. It didn’t even cross my mind to open the windows. Plus we also do a lot of work at night during the week – hence all the darkness outside my windows and my dependency on interior overhead lighting for my photos.)

Going…


Gone!


Woohoo!!! This relatively small demo really made a huge difference, don’t you think? It totally opens up the kitchen/dining room area! It’s much more conversation friendly and bright and I’m soooo happy!

As expected though, there were a few small holes in the ceiling after our little demo session. The absence of this cabinet also left some bare ceiling and an unfinished section on one of the cabinets. The holes have been patched and primed and are awaiting paint. The unfinished cabinet area is another issue though. Not quite sure what exactly to do about that seeing how I’m not exactly sure about what I want to do with the cabinets in general. Another project for another day…

Mad crazy love going out to my friend Mr. Handy (you know who you are)! Can’t thank you enough for dropping by with all of your tools on a Friday night and making this happen (you know, while I hid in the family room terrified that the entire ceiling was going to come down – so useless sometimes).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. corey
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 07:23:03

    looks way better, really does open up the space. good job Mr. Handy, et al.

    Reply

  2. Ellen Bloom
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 07:59:01

    Yeah, it opens up the space and looks great, but where will you put all that stuff that was in the cabinet??? I just love STORAGE. NEED to have more storage!!! P.S. Just put some sort of decorative piece on the unfinished cabinet side….hang a few pictures or dishes on it.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 18, 2011 @ 11:14:19

      A ton of the stuff that was in that cabinet is getting donated to the Goodwill. That stuff has been in there forever (like the ashtrays – no one in my family smokes!!!)! But I’m keeping one half of the cabinet, painting it, putting some legs on it and turning it into a little storage cabinet for either the dining room or my soon to be craft room. So technically I’m only losing a little bit of storage!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

