Ch- Ch- Ch- Changes!

Despite my father’s unwavering belief that wood paneling adds value to your house (Really? REALLY? In 2011? Really?), I hate wood paneling.

Especially floor to ceiling wood paneling.

Enter my den/family room prepainting project.

Woodpaneltopia!!!


Can’t you just feel the 50’s/60’s trying to reach out to touch you?

No touch! No touch!

Anyway, after much thought and reading (and rereading) of Sherry and John’s YoungHouseLove post about how to paint over paneling, I made the executive decision to paint over all of the wood paneling in the house. The conversation with my Dad about this went something like this:

Me: “I made an executive decision this afternoon.”

Dad: “Okaaaaaaaay…”

Me: “I’m painting over the wood paneling. All of it.”

Dad: “Okaaaaaaaay…”

Me: “It’s going to be awesome.”

And awesome it is! Afterlicious!



Look at that crisp white ceiling and trim! SWOON!

Look at those lovely sandy colored walls! SUPER SWOON!

Painting wood paneling isn’t all that difficult. It’s pretty much the same prep and painting techniques you would use for any quality DIY wall painting.

CLEAN: My Dad vacuumed the walls with a shop-vac to get some of the soot, dirt and dust off. Then my friend Eve and I washed the walls down with hot water and Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap (and lots of elbow grease).

PRIME: Brought out the big gun for this project – BIN Shellac-Based Primer. This stuff is the business. Oil-based, really stinky and awesome – It covered the wood paneling like a champ. Priming the lines in-between the paneling with a small brush was painfully slow work at first. However, midway thru the priming it was suggested to me to use a thicker nap roller to prime the wood and the lines in-between all at the same time. A-ma-zing! Going from a 3/8 inch nap roller head to a 1 inch nap roller head made all the difference in the world. The primer totally went on nice and opaque over the wood and primed the lines simultaneously. Hazaaah!

PAINT: Wellllll here comes trouble. It took three – count them – three trips to Lowe’s for paint to get this room done. It’s not that we ran out of paint or anything like that. Oh noooo, its was much more interesting:

  • Trip #1: Bought two gallons of Olympic Premium Interior Paint in a color called Cream in my Coffee by Valspar.

    Well, I thought it was this color. Ughhhh…
    The paint turned out to be base paint white. No colorant at all. None. Zero. Zip. Just white. So it was off to Lowe’s again for…
  • Trip #2: I swapped the colorless paint out with two new gallons of Olympic Premium Interior Paint but this time in a color called Devoted by True Value.
    Purrrrrrrrrty.


    This was kinda of difficult to get done. The lovely folks at Lowes wanted to color-correct the paint I was trying to return instead just adding colorant or starting anew. But after giving them my stern face and not taking their shit I got my new paint as an even swap.

    HOWEVER, for some strange reason (there are many theories as to why this happened), the paint wouldn’t stay on the wall. It scratched right off. It just wouldn’t set up. After crying and freakin’ out, I made…

  • Trip #3: I told my friend Glenn at another Lowe’s what happened and we decided that going up to a thicker, primer+paint type paint would fix my problem. I decided to go with Valspar Signature in the same True Value Devoted color.

We (and by ‘we’ I mean my friend Jeffrey) sanded all of the paint off of the walls and I started over at primer level. The second try at color came out quite lovely – thankfully. I’m pretty sure I did a dance that included lots of pointing and pelvic thrusting to silent celebratory disco music.

There’s still much to do for this room – most noticeably the stone in the back of the room needs to be cleaned and the floors need a good sweep and mop. Soon enough, soon enough. But for right now…*point point thrust thrust point point*

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nook.
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:26:35

    wowza! you did a fantastic job! looks incredible! seriously! i’d dance with ya! so awesome!!!

    Reply

  2. Ellen Bloom
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:54:28

    I absolutely LOVE the Rocky Mountain Stone wall! Makes your house look like a cabin in Aspen!! Nice paint job!

    Reply

  3. Beas
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 11:00:34

    TOTAL DIFFERENCE!!!!! I Mean seriously – really brings the room out and up! Love that you made that exec call… 😉

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 12:07:42

      Hahahaa!!! Thanks! Sometimes you just have to make the executive call (even if it means calling your parent while they’re traveling in another state…hehehehe!)

      Reply

  4. Terry
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 11:26:58

    Looking good, can’t wait to see it in person… Have to come by soon to see what else you’ve done with the place. Have fun!!

    Reply

  5. Michelle
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:56:04

    WOW! Total room transformation! Sometimes executive decisions are necessary! The room looks incredible.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 11:39:26

      Thanks honey! I’m glad I was so inspired by a number of other DIYers that did the same thing to their WP. Some times you just have to make the tough (or not so tough) calls!

      Reply

  6. Peter G.
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 08:11:21

    Looks great, Michele!! Nice choice on the colors. Your home redecorating/remodeling skills never cease to impress…

    Reply

  7. isaida aka mami dearest
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 09:38:55

    Wow – looks so much brighter! Good job!

    Reply

  8. Randi
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 06:05:16

    Wow – huge improvement! I love how much bigger and brighter it looks with the paneling painted over. And the stone wall is very cool.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 14:49:45

      Thanks!!! No longer a tiny cave like room, right!?
      Yeah – I love that stone wall. Can’t wait to get some time to clean it. I think that will make that room look even better!

      Reply

  9. Aya
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 17:00:16

    It looks wonderful. Nice work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

