I Challenge Thee!

Do you have a Pinterest and/or Ravelry account?

If you had a quarter for every pin, like, queue or fav in your accounts could you buy your own island?

Yeahhhhh, I thought so.

Don’t get me wrong! I’m not judging! I have the same thing going on over here!


Sad isn’t it?

How ’bout we do something crazy…like, you know, actually make/do some of the things on our boards and/or in our queues? Crazy talk, I know, but let’s do this!

Here’s what I’m thinking…A challenge! A completely unofficial just for fun challenge!

Over the next couple of days take a look at you queue/favs on Ravelry. Click around your boards on Pinterest. Want to make some homemade mod podge? Want to knit a shawl? Paint a lampbase? Organize your garage? Make some fancy cupcakes? Do so. Pick something, or even a few things, and come January 1st Get To Crackin’. Bring the heat! Then come February 1st let’s share what we’ve done. Pin it on Pinterest, post it on Ravelry, or blog about it – but share it with all of us so that we can ohhhh and ahhhhh over everyone’s’ work.

No pressure just fun…and maybe some inspired cooking, knitting, sewing, organizing, painting…oh look! homemade Febreeze!

*check back in early January for some unofficial-official information and deets on how we can share all of our awesomeness come Feb 1st*


21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corey
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 07:18:15

    okay, Ravelry & Pinterest? I don’t know these words. What are they?

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 13:04:03

      Ravelry is knitting, crochet, weaving internet central. If you do any of those things, Ravelry is the place for you! You can store all of your project notes, patterns, library list, yarn stash, needle/hook count all on this one place. AND you’re connected to other knitters/crocheters/weavers around the world. Its Epic.

      Pinterest has something for everyone – not just crafters. Its a place where you can store all of the things you come across on the internet. You can see what other people are looking at and tag their items to your account for your reference too. Its like a giant place to bookmark all the cool things the internet has to offer. Its Epic.

      Both – EPIC.

      Reply

  2. Charlotte
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 23:01:00

    I’m in! Totally looking through all your stuff though cause I’m still on the waiting list.

    Reply

  3. Samantha
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 12:44:56

    I am on both rav and pinterest, and am afraid to look at my “favorites” totals! Gret idea, though 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ivy
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 13:01:09

    Hey, you might have a lot on your Ravelry page, but your queue is remarkably short with only 12 projects! Someday I aspire to have a queue that short, well done. : )

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 13:41:04

      Don’t let my queue number fool you! I only use that for the most super immediate things I want to work on…My favorite list is really like a queue for me!!!!

      Reply

  5. Eve
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:42:25

    So are we posting our “January challenges” here? If so, then this is what I will do:

    1) Finish the Central Park Hoodie. I got the back, but it took for.e.ver. If I get the rest done in a month, I’ll be duly impressed with myself. Plus I will demand utter reverence from everybody here. If I don’t get it done you can call me a big fat liar! (Don’t forget the liar in that sentence!!!!) Project-page: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/pandorra7/new-york-state-of-mind

    2) Finish a sewing project I started over a year ago. I cut the pattern, I cut the pieces, I made the first seam, and now I’m stuck because I don’t understand the instructions. I will have to go seek out somebody who is fluent in pattern. There won’t be any boasting if I get it done. I’ll just smile demurely. If I don’t get it done, you may pat me on the shoulder and say that it’s OK!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 14:52:27

      The challenge is to start and finish something BRAND NEW!! BRAND NEW!!! BRAND NEW!!!! (Although I can’t wait for you to finish your CPH big time! I’m still trippin’ on your yarn choice!!!)

      Reply

  6. Eve
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:07:12

    “BRAND NEW” the lady says…

    I SHALL MAKE 5 BRAND NEW THINGS IN JANUARY:
    1) Brand new left sleeve
    2) Brand new right sleeve
    3) Brand new left front
    4) Brand new right front
    5) Brand new hood

    which I then shall attach to the not-so-brand-new-but-nevertheless-finished-in-January back and voila: BRAND NEW JACKET!!!

    Now will you worship my amazing craftiness???

    Reply

  7. Eve
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:32:44

    All right. In addition to the jacket, I will try this:

    And then I shall make all your mouths water with my pictures! LOL – OK, I’m domestically challenged, so it might not turn out pretty enough for pictures….

    Now I would like to hear what everybody else is planning to do? Let’s hear it followers of the cheletopia-page!!!!

    Reply

  8. Michelle
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 07:50:30

    My favs and queue are a MESS of projects I’d love to make! Hopefully, I will take initiative and move some of them from the dream list to the project board!

    Reply

  9. pandorra7
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:18:06

    I did one!!! I really did one. LOL

    From pinterest: http://pinterest.com/pin/46865652342043717/

    However, mine doesn’t quite look like the one posted. And I must say: I WASN’T THAT EASY!!!!!

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Clean, Soft and Ring Free (A Challenge Update) « cheletopia
  11. Trackback: Challengetopia! « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

