On the Corner of Spray Paint and Boozing

I love Pinterest.

I love spray paint.

I love wine.

I love that I was able to work all three of these things into one project!

I was inspired by a number of Pinterest projects to combine my love for wine and spray paint, but this is the one that started it all:


I remember thinking “YOU CAN SPRAY PAINT BOTTLES?! THAT’S BRILLIANT! I SHOULD DO THIS!!!”

I later I came across a number of pins that showed wine bottles being spray painted – so I got to boozing!

After some serious wine drinking (and wine sharing), I managed to get a nice little collection of wine bottles. I’m not going to lie…I used this project as an excuse to try wines that I usually don’t drink…namely white wines and Malbecs (I still don’t particularly like either). But, in trying new wines, I managed to collect a variety of different shapes of bottles. Big and small, fat and skinny, and broad and tapered shouldered. I think I got a nice collection together!


(Thanks Charlotte for helping with getting all of those pesky labels off!)

Before I officially got started with this project, I did a test run with a bottle that just wouldn’t part completely with its label glue (don’t worry, I later discovered the brilliance of GooGone).


I absolutely and instantly feel in love with this look and charged forward with my new favorite spray primer and spray paint:


You know the drill! Prime, paint and leave the hell alone to dry!



Since I did this project fairly early in the morning, I was able to let these babies dry outside in the shade for a while. I’m completely and utterly paranoid that if left in the sun to dry, the glass will heat up, expand and the paint will crack or creep, so I only let them dry outside for about an hour or so.


I eventually brought them into dry in my “drying room” (aka second bathroom) and put them on my “drying rack” (aka a dog crate divider) so that the bottoms got a chance to dry (not that I painted the bottoms, they just pick up wet paint here and there during the course of the spray painting process).

But once dry, I moved them all (test run bottle included) to their place in the dining room.




Cool looking right!!! I can put flowers in them, candles, twigs with autumn foliage! Oh! And eventually I’ll buy/make some fancy place settings and layout all of my fancy dinnerware – AWESOMESAUCE! Bring on the dinner parties!

Sigh…I love you spray paint…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlotteslifetranslations
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 21:23:31

    I’m less offended than I was on Facebook because I was in fact invited to most of the boozing and crafting nights…. and I cleaned the bottles.

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 05:20:55

    What a fun idea! They look great with your tablecloth.

    Reply

  3. Corey!
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 06:29:56

    I am so inspired by you and your magical spray paint! And any time you can include wine into a DIY project, perfecto! Great job!

    Reply

  4. corey
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 06:30:53

    I am so inspired by you and your magical spray paint! And any time you can legitimately include wine into a DIY project, perfecto! Great job!

    Reply

  5. pandorra7
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 10:58:29

    Way to go! Keep busy with that weapon of yours (i.e. spray paint)!
    🙂

    Reply

  6. Derek
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:02:43

    Krylon sponsorship must be in the works.
    Now if you could only get a winery on board…. you’d have it made.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

