National Craft Month Challenge – Week 5

National Craft Month Challenge Week 5 Take something you already have at home (or from someone else’s home –who am I to judge?) and turn it into something different (and awesome). Easy-peasy.

Awwwwwwyeahhhhhhh…Check this awesomeness out!


Yeahhhh, my neighbor had just thrown this in the trash when I spotted it. She saw me eyeballing it and offered it to me. Oddly enough she said, “Here gurl. You can have it. It’s a beautiful painting.” Really? Then why were you throwing it out?

Anyway, I have to admit that I totally hate this painting. It’s not really my type of art AT ALL and I really think it’s just kinda of bad, but I know potential when I see it.

Not only was the frame nice and sturdy, the canvas was nice and smooth despite the tacky painting. Oh, and super easy to take apart.  Four little prong type things…click click click click!  Hello frame, hello canvas!


I was going to do something with the frame, but something pushed me to work with the canvas first. So you know me…a little lotta bit of spray paint primer…


A little bit of white spray paint…


Booyah! A new (and free) canvas!

After much thought and being inspired by paint chip art, allover wall stencils and the art work of Jill Ricci, I decided to break out my Casablanca wall stencil from Cutting Edge Stencils and do my own Moroccan inspired “collage”. So after a quick run to the scrapbooking store, an evening of cutting the same shape out over and over again, some fancy-schmancy puffy paint, and lots and lots of Mod Podge – craftroomarttopia!!!


CLOSE UPS!



Can you believe this started out as an ugly painting in my neighbor’s trash container? I’m just absolutely thrilled at how this came out! Of all of the projects that I did in March for this challenge, this is absolutely my favorite.

Awesomely, this project only cost $18. I only purchased the scrapbooking paper (some came from my stash though) and the fancy puffy paint. I already had a huge freakin’ vat of Mod Podge and the stencil from other projects (or projects that I’d planned to do but scrapped).

Upcycling rocks.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 06:17:49

    that is really lovely much better than the dark dull painting and you still have the frame to recycle

    Reply

  2. pandorra7
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 09:55:09

    Hahaha – NICE!!!! Did you use the cricut?

    Reply

  3. corey!
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 18:28:33

    love upcycling! Great job!!

    Reply

  4. Tiffany {Living Savvy}
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 07:00:12

    Wow! This is super fun! I love it!

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 04:56:04

    Wow! Great job, I love the scrap paper collage!

    Reply

  6. Judy
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 23:52:40

    I like what you did, but I also liked the painting.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: DIY Hack: Scrapbook Paper Decor | Life in Motion

Leave a Reply

