Oh the Pretty Colors!

So apparently knitting and crocheting isn’t enough for me when it comes to dealing with yarn. I gotta dye my yarn now too!

I was initially intrigued by some overdyed projects on Ravelry. Then after some yarn shopping with Eve and finding out that Knit Picks carries undyed yarn I decided to take the plunge and dye some yarn.

First, I decided to overdye some beautiful Cascade 220 yarn.


Seriously, I love this color but it looks horrible on me! This is the last skein I had of it so I figured it would be my dye test monkey.

Here’s what I did:

  1. I soaked my yarn for about 45 minutes in a 3 to 1 water/vinegar mixture (6 cups of water and 2 cups of vinegar in this case).
  2. Toweled squeezed all of the water out – you want damp yarn, not soaking wet yarn
  3. I mixed about a 1/4 of a bottle of RIT dye in a large empty Starbucks frappa-whatever bottle with water to the top – I used a color called Wine
  4. Then I poured the dye over the yarn – heavier in some places than others. Some spots I skipped entirely.
  5. I then tossed all of the yarn into a ziplock bag and nuked it in the microwave – 2 minutes heat – 2 minutes rest – flip bag – 2 minutes heat (debatable if this is safe with RIT dye but the RIT website has a tutorial on nuking RIT dye so I’m assuming that my 6 minutes in the microwave won’t contaminate my food and kill me off)
  6. Rinsed twice (first rinse with a dash vinegar)
  7. Hung to dry for a couple of days (the darker areas took longer to dry) and taaaaa-daaaaaa!!!


Gooooorgeous right!? It’s much more tonal in person but I think you get the point in the picture….dark and warm in some sports and bare orange in others. I love it! I decided to name it “Brooklyn” because I was listening to the Knitting Brooklyn podcast when I was dyeing it up (and yes I named it…all yarn needs a good colorway name!).

With my confidence riding high I decided to dye my Knit Picks Bare Peruvian Highland Wool next.


So exciting!!! I was going to go for a tonal look but decided to do a straight monochromatic full immersion dye job. Here’s what I did with the Bare:

  1. I soaked my yarn for about 45 minutes in a 3 to 1 water/vinegar mixture (6 cups of water and 2 cups of vinegar in this case).
  2. Toweled squeezed all of the water out
  3. I mixed about a 1/4 of a bottle of RIT dye in a large empty Starbucks frappa-whatever bottle with water to the top again – I used a color called ***
  4. I brought a giant tamale steamer ½ full of water and a cup of vinegar to just under simmering…the water was steaming… not boiling at all but super hot nonetheless.
  5. I added the yarn and the diluted dye to the steamer and let it simmer for 30 minutes. I stirred on occasion but not much.
  6. I let the water and yarn cool on the stove for about 30 minutes so I wouldn’t have to handle super hot and wet yarn.
  7. I then proceeded to rinsed the shit out of it…this took forever and I still only got the water 95% clear. Good enough!
  8. After squeezing it out again in a towel, I let it hang dry for two days and…


Well hellllloooo there handsome! I love this color and the love the even richness of it. I decided to name it “Vincent” because I was thinking about Vincent D’Onofrio from Law & Order Criminal Intent while I was dyeing this skein up (I have a thing for his character on L&O). No plans for this yarn quite yet, but I’m sure it will turn into something lovely.

Total success x2!!!

I have to say, although I have lots of crafty goodness on my plate and in line to be tackled as it is, I can’t wait to do this again. And again. And again!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Triona
    May 19, 2012 @ 19:07:29

    Wow, those both look gorgeous! I especially love the blue… but I’m always a sucker for blues. Nice job!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: May Goals – The Results Show « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

