Crackin’ the WIP(s)

YOP Week #2 check in! Woot Woot Woot!

Didn’t finish anything this past week but progress was definitely made!

First of all, I’m one garter section away from being done, done, done with my LaLa Simple Shawl (my project is here). Isn’t she pretty!!!

Just a living doll! Look at all of the purty colours (that’s right, with a ‘u’ in both words, yup…I took it there). Look closer…

Purty colours!!! Purty colours!!!

I was considering adding a row of beads towards the end but I realized that the thick/thin craziness of this yarn would just piss me off when trying to size beads for it. So alas, no beads…

Although I’ve made zero progress with my Piper’s Journey (my project is here) this week, I did add it to my July goals as a project to have finished by the end of the month. Hopefully this will inspire me to finish this little sweet gal up super soon!

It’s a lot of garter stitch going on right now. A lot. No purling. Hello. Can’t wait to get to the lace edging. Yarnover and purling….woot woot!!!

New project alert! New project alert!

Despite popular belief, it gets cold here in Los Angeles (seriously, it rained here this past week, in the dead of summer – that’s how we roll)! Sometimes you need a little somethin’ somethin’ to keep the chill at bay. Enter the Kaya Simple Raglan Shrug (my project is here).

Okay, so I don’t have a lot of it done yet – I just started it! But pretty colors right? Look at the full skein…

A little James C. Brett Chunky yarn for the job (staaaaash yarn – word). A little crispy and a little shiny but it should produce a cute little shrug.

That’s all for right now! My goals for this week are to wrap up the LaLa Shawl annnnnnd make some serious progress on both the shrug and Piper’s Journey. Would loooove to have all three items wrapped up before the world wide Ravelymipcs Ravellenic Games cast-on! 😉

For all of those playing along in this year’s YOP challenge, I hope you’re having a yarntastic time!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wool Diaries (@WoolDiaries)
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 22:46:14

    Your projects are the kind that are going to make me cast on way tooo many projects. Absolutely beautiful

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 01:47:30

    As this side of the pond we spell colour with the u I didn’t notice but I did like the purty shawl and hope you get it finised this week, it sure is a purty colour lol. Love pipers journey and I’m sure it will be no problem to get it done by end of month. The shrug looks great so far and for only starting it, you got a quite a bit done, purty colours in it also.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:04:41

    I’m just going gaga over Lala! I have made a few shawls in Noro, and you’re making me want to make another right now – I’ve just searched online and can’t find that coloUrway in stock here in the UK…..perhaps it’s a good job!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:49:27

      I love Noro but I hate Noro prices. I don’t know how you feel about acrylic and acrylic blends but if you’re okay with them I highly recommend Bernat Mosaic and Red Heart Boutique Treasure. Both of them stripe like Noro yarn but at a quarter of the price. The Mosaic even has a slight Noro feel to it!

      Reply

  4. babygreens
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:34:29

    oh my – beautiful projects in beautiful yarns. Gorgeous.

    Reply

  5. Minding My Own Stitches
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:54:37

    Wait, some people don’t use “u”s in “colour”? What kind of crazy is that!!!!

    Love the pattern for that Kaya cardigan – damn my cue got longer again!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:53:01

      I know, right! Crazy freakin’ Americans!

      I love the Kaya pattern – its working up so fast too. If you have problems finding a copy of that pattern let me know (it took some doing for me to get it). PM me on Ravelry and I will get a copy to you. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Pumpkin
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 05:05:30

    I love all of the different yarns you have been using, they are lovely. I particularly love he shrug, it is going to be amazing!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 11:58:13

      Thanks!!! I’m stash diving for most of my projects right now so they count for both YOP and StashDash 2012 (and later the Ravellenic Games)! Lovin’ my stash!!!

      Reply

  7. offthehookeastcoast
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 07:20:35

    Time for me to oooo and ahhh over all your pretty projects! Love them all! I’ve been doing the same thing trying to finish stuff up before the games. I did but now I have an odd amount of time until they start so I keep picking up small projects along the way hehe

    Reply

  8. hopeinspired
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 07:45:59

    I love the colour you chose for the shrug. Excited to see how it turns out. 🙂

    Reply

  9. mary
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 14:13:01

    I’m with ya’all on the Noro being great..but not for my budget…

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 16, 2012 @ 15:33:04

      I’m telling you hon, the Red Heart Boutique Treasure and the Bernat Mosaic is where its at!!! My friend Eve and I call them both the Poorman’s Noro!

      Reply

  10. Sandy
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 08:24:40

    PURDY is right. I love love love those colors. You’re making awesome headway all the way around. Well done.

    Reply

  11. LP Starr
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 08:37:41

    I like that Noro. No weird colors in there. And Ha, Ha, you are so funny. Isn’t there ever any rain in the middle of summer there in LA? Raining right now in MN where we have been having record temps and more rain than usual all summer.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 18, 2012 @ 10:57:11

      It freakishly just rained here last week. Well, I use the term “rain” lightly…let’s just say that water fell from the sky for a little bit and then it was mugggggy for a couple of days!

      Reply

  12. Emma
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 10:43:14

    I love the colours in your lala shawl, it’s gorgeous!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: June & July 2012 Goals Results Show « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

