Ravellenic Games 2012

Yes!!! The 2012 Summer Olympics are just around the corner. That can only mean one thing > The Ravellenic Games are also upon us!!!

I missed participating in the last Ravelympic games (the old name) during the 2010 Olympics in Canada, but I’m totally ready this year. I’ve join Team Mine that’s hosted by the Selfish Knitters & Crocheters and ready to plop my ass down in front of my tv for 17 days of awesome sporting goodness.


I have to be honest, the Games start a week from tomorrow and I’m just figuring out what I want to do. My first inclination was to set a bunch of lofty goals that I would never ever meet and be discouraged. So, to avoid that messiness, I’ve really been thinking this whole thing through – how much could I realllllly get thru in 17 days? Honestly, not a whole bunch. I’m a fast crocheter but a slow knitter. I’m getting faster, but it’s a process. And, of course, most of the projects I would like to tackle are knitted.

So, in an effort to not drive myself crazy I’ve decided to compete in the WIP Event with two projects: 1) finish my Modern Garden Cardigan [my project: Garden party]; and 2) finish my Op Top [my project: Chapeau Bleu]. Boom. End of list.


Seriously…Finishing a sweater and a stranded hat should totally keep me very busy for all 17 days! I know, totally boring list, but I’m not one of those Norwegian knitters that decides “Oh! For the Ravellenic Games I’m going to knit a full on cabled sweater. And a matching cabled hat. And mittens. And knee-high socks.” AND TOTALLY COMPLETE ALL OF IT WITH DAYS LEFT TO RELAX (love you girls – just jealous). Blah!!! But that’s okay! My list is my list and I’m going to RAWK IT!!!

So excited…17 days of sports and knitting! S-O E-X-C-I-T-E-D!!!

Go teams USA, Italy, England, and Japan!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 23:02:33

    More than enough to keep you busy I would say. Myself, I’ll be nowhere near the TV, can’t stand sport!!

    Reply

  2. bapsi
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 04:35:17

    excited!!!!!
    those two wips look like plenty for this year’s ravellenics, good luck!

    Reply

  3. Sandra Licher
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 05:50:05

    It’s funny because I had planned on plopping down in front of the t.v. for the games and knitting and crocheting too before I even heard about the Ravellenic Games. I love the Olympics! I’m like you…a slow knitter and a faster crocheter. I think it’s because I know how to back out of crochet and pick it back up if I make a mistake. With knitting, if I mess up and don’t notice I end up tearing it all out and starting over. Is there a book or an online class on how to stop doing that? The more I get knitted on a project the more frightened I become! LOL! Go Teams!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 11:44:46

      My advise on dealing with mistakes with knitting (not coming from my high horse or anything, just things I have learned from my own knitting):

      1) Learn to read your knitting and review your knitting often.
      2) Have someone show you how to tink (unknit without frogging) – great for fixing nearby mistakes!
      3) Get the book: Lily Chin’s Knitting Tips & Tricks: Shortcuts and Techniques Every Knitter Should Know. It will change your knitting life. So much good information! She talks a lot about fixing mistakes and how to make your knitting life easy. I used that book to fix two cables that I’d twist the wrong way by just dropping stitches instead of having to frog rows of work. Same with missed yo’s…if you read you knitting and notice a missed yo soon enough, you can fix it in the next row. Its awesome! (http://www.amazon.com/Lily-Chins-Knitting-Tips-Tricks/dp/030746105X)
      4) Use life lines!!!

      Reply

  4. kala
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 08:30:15

    Those are great goals! I’m doing a striped shawl, I usually try to do some sort of garment, but I think this year a shawl is more likely to get finished.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 11:33:09

      Thanks!
      Shawls seem totally doable and finishable in 17 days. But I swear, those girls that crank out full on cabled sweaters in 17 days…..Do they sleep? Is the trick to knit while your sleep?

      LOL! Good luck on your shawl! I can’t wait to see your FO!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: June & July 2012 Goals Results Show « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

