Colorway 10


Pattern: LaLa’s Simple Shawl by Laura Linneman (my project: Colorway 10)
Yarn: Noro Chirimen
Colorway: 10 (so creative – blah)
Needles: US 7 circulars
Size: 58″ across and 28″ deep
Skills: Casting on, decreasing (K2tog), yarnover increases, blocking, beading and crochet bind-off (my modifications)

Notes: Great simple shawl. You do a little garter here, a little stockinette here and a little lace there. Really pleasant. Just enough going on to keep you interested and to give great results. Even though the pattern offers lots of opportunity for customization, I pretty much stuck to the pattern. I did, however, use a lighter yarn than the pattern calls for and I used a fancy, scalloped and crocheted beaded bind-off (which I learned from a video that I can’t find right now but can explain if anyone is interested…it’s really quite fantastic).


By the way – What a yarn!!! I love the striping and the color combination and I’m glad I dug it out of my stash for this project. It’s softer than the more familiar Noro Kureyon and Silk Garden because it’s a 60% cotton, 24% silk and 16% wool blend. But don’t let that high cotton content fool you – this stuff is fab-u-lous. It’s not hard on your hands, it blocks very easily (no soaking – just pin it down in the shape that you want, spritz with water and let dry over night) and it drapes fabulously. But, this shit is unnnneven. Its suppose to be a DK weight yarn but this stuff goes down to lace weight and all the way up to bulky. It’s all over the place. And the knots. Ugh…I don’t mind the occasional knot but does the color striping have to get interrupted in the process?

*pouts*

I still love it though. It’s just so damn pretty.


 

Stash Dash 2012 > 179 grams (for Checkpoint #4)
Year of Projects > Week #3

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bapsi
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 23:26:45

    oh wow those colors *__* noro did it again.
    i think you put that pretty colorway to good use with that pattern you chose–well done!

    Reply

  2. Dorothy
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 23:51:12

    Your shawl is lovely and the colors work beautifully. I’m using Noro Kureyon at the moment and will be glad when its finished. I also worry about those perilously thin strands through it too .Have a great week. xoxox

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 10:13:10

      Thanks! At some point I’m going to have to try the Noro Kureyon. I will admit that I had to learned to be super careful with the Noro because I dropped a couple of stitches when it got really thin and coiled up. Still can’t get enough of their colorways though.

      Reply

  3. Ruth
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 02:05:54

    Love your shawl and will be putting that Noro yarn on the list to try, the colours in it are just gorgeous. When I used the silk garden I found it pretty uneven also.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 10:15:35

      Thanks honey! I will say that the unevenness of the yarn is annoying while working with it but it doesn’t show uneven in the knitted piece so much – just in parts where it got really thick and FLUFFY.

      Reply

  4. wooldiaries
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 02:57:27

    Beautiful, I LOVE it, I am adding that pattern to my list, and going to my LYS that has a sale on now and getting some Noro just for this.

    Reply

  5. Minding My Own Stitches
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 03:48:25

    OOooh that’s so pretty. I have a love/hate relationship with Noro too.

    Reply

  6. HillyT
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 05:40:40

    I always find that with Noro, it drives me mad with its knots and uneven nature but the colours are beautiful that occasionally I still get sucked in!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 10:18:39

      Yeah, I totally got sucked in. And even when I was writing this post and complaining about the knots and the uneven texture of the yarn, I was thinking about buying more. This stuff is like crack!

      Reply

  7. Cris
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 07:07:44

    Gorgeous! Personally, I think the unevenness of the yarn did this piece justice – I am sure it would be gorgeous otherwise, but it really takes on a great personality with this yarn. Great job!

    Reply

  8. Sandra Licher
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 16:41:45

    Gorgeous! It is absolutely beautiful! I’m not into shawls much but I love this one! Except for the beading I think I could handle it and I love Noro yarns. I’m really impressed! What’s next! I’m watching you! LOL! Great job!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 17:28:22

      Hahahahaahaa!! Thanks!!! It was lots of fun and the beading was CRAZY FUN!

      I hate to admit it…but it may be another shawl next! Hahaha! But it may be a shrug or a sweater…LOL! There’s much fun to come…including socks and some super cute hats!

      Reply

  9. mary
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 03:09:50

    It is wonderful…It’s been fun watching this project through completion…I just also like the name..LaLa!

    mary

    Reply

  10. Lucie
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 14:01:09

    Gorgeous colour and it looks fab – well done 🙂

    Reply

  11. Emma
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 13:03:28

    That is gorgeous, and I love your modifications, the border is lovely.

    Reply

  12. Sandy
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 05:03:44

    Makes me want to sing….La La La, lol. It turned out awesome. I really need to make one. Think I saved the pattern, must check my list.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 27, 2012 @ 10:08:52

      Do it! Its a great knit and makes for a great shawl.

      It dropped down to 66 degrees in my office right after I finished it – stupid a/c system. I totally had it wrappeed around my shoulders one morning while they were trying to fix the A/C! OVER my hoodie no less. Freakin’ feeeezing!

      Reply

  13. Kathy Almonte
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 11:22:19

    I would very much like to do your border on my LaLa shawl. Could you please give me the instructions? Your shawl is gorgeous by the way.

    Reply

  14. Trackback: June & July 2012 Goals Results Show « cheletopia
  15. Trackback: Piper’s Continuing Journey « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

