For the Love of Etsy!

Can I just go ahead and say it? Etsy.com is like crack. It’s like going to the mall but better. Way better. The shop owners are much nicer, the quality of the goods is much higher and you can shop from your living room in your pajamas (super plus!).

Well, in my crazy world, July is Go Ape-Shit on Etsy Month because for whatever reason I went on a Etsy shopping spree this month (I blame all of the podcasts that I watch/listen to – ENABLERES! EN-A-B-LERS!). But I got some gooood stuff. Reallllly good stuff.

So in the spirit of enabling and giving shout-outs to some great Etsy vendors, here’s a show-and-tell of all of the goodies I’ve bought so far this month.

(And in a credit where credit is due kinda of way, all of the pictures below are from the shops I bought the items from. I haven’t had a chance to photograph any of this stuff and I also wanted to show off these vendors’ goods in the best way possible. I figured their pictures would do it best.)

1 > Unwind Yarn Company

This is my favorite Etsy shop. Dana, the shop owner, is ahhh-mazing. She does beauuuutiful work and she’s an absolute peach. She specializes in hand dyed yarns/fiber and handspun yarn and she’s freaking awesome. I ordered two things from her this month: 1) Peach Crumble Handdyed Polworth and Silk Roving (for the lovely Fat Squirrel); and 2) Dirty Martini Handdyed Luxe Sock Yarn.



Don’t you just wanna eat that roving? Nom Nom Nom Nom And seriously, I’m having the hardest time deciding what sock pattern to use with that yarn because I really want to make sure that the pattern shows off the awesomesauceness of the yarn.  And yes, I’m pretty sure that “awesomesauceness” is a legit word.

(check out her podcast with her bff Brittany over at Just One More Row)

2 > Craftiness

“Nostepinne – a Scandinavian knitting tool used to wind your own center pull yarn ball the old fashioned, low-tech way.” I saw one of these on The Knit Girllls and had to have one. You don’t always want to set up your ball winder and swift! Sometimes low-tech is the way to go!


Fancy right! I love how beautiful this winder is. It’s made from dymond wood and is totally one of a kind. This shop makes a number of these nostepinnes but they don’t use templates or duplicators so each one is totally unique. WHICH. I. LOVE. I love that they sent it with instructions too, because trust me, it takes a little practice to get the perfectly hand wound center pull skein on this thing (you can totally do it the fast and dirty way though!!!).

3 > Caliope’s Fibre

Most of my stitch markers are boooooor-ing. So to fancy stuff up, I first bought these little honeys!



Freakin’ chicken and ladybug stitch markers! Adorable right!? I like that you can have the bead color changed when you order them (which I didn’t do, but a nice option to have) and that they have a nice weight to them. These are removable stitch markers too so good for both knitting and crocheting. I’m bistitchual so it matters. *wink wink*

4 > Wine Makers Sister

Continuing with stitchmarkerpaloza…



There were a number of steampunk stitch marker sets that I loooved but the Parisian set got me. I can’t get enough of things French so these had to be mine. And you gotta love the Peace & Enlightenment set. The colors and the two larger pieces sold me. A little knitting and a little contemplation of my being all at the same time…ohhhhmmmmmmmmknitpuuuuuuuuuuuurl.

5 > Bag End Bags

I keep seeing people with small box project bags and I think they are ADORABLE. Just the right size to stash some sock knitting or fingerless gloves in the making.


When I saw the name of this little number – London Calling – and realized that the material is the London subway system I had to have it. Hello – the 2012 London Olympic Games start in just a few days! So freakin’ sweet. Cute little shop with adorable bags with super reasonable prices.

6 > Mountain Shadow Design

I’m trying desperately to wrap up my Piper’s Journey but I decided that it needs beads. BEADS!!!


My Piper’s Journey is a dusty green color so I thought the glazed patina look of these beads would really look good against my yarn. That’s my theory at least, but we shall see (I’m hopeful).

Not going to lie, there are a number of shops on Etsy to get beads, but the beads in this shop have really great finishes at very decent prices. I totally faved her shop for future beading needs. Seriously, check her out.

7 > Rain City Fiber Arts

I ran into this vendor at Convergence 2012 (the weaver’s convention) with my friend Jill this past weekend. I haven’t purchased anything through their Etsy shop, but I did buy some lovely fiber from them at the convention. LOVELY. You’re going to have to trust me on that because I don’t have any pictures of the fiber that I bought from them (a BFL/silk braid and a polworth braid) and their Etsy store is currently empty right now due to them having their stock with them while travelling. Keep an eye on their shop though. Good prices and a great selection – super funny ladies too!


Inspired? Feel the need to go buy some beads, yarn, fiber, knitting/crochet notions?

You should. Seriously. It’s good for the economy.

What? You need to pay your bills? Well, that’s just crazy talk!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. reneesylvie
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:31:16

    Lady bug stitch markers? How freaking cute are those!!! I think I need some, LOL

    Reply

  2. Sandra Licher
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:43:06

    Oh! You are too funny! We must have scratched the same urge because I just spent my wad on yarn and some just old plastic stitch markers and a few needles and hooks. Thanks for the update on Etsy shops though cuz there’s always next month. Budget??? That just crazy talk too! LOL!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 26, 2012 @ 10:13:41

      Budget!? What is this crazy talk you speak!

      I was told by my good friend Eve that I’ve spent my budget for craftygoodness for July and August. Damnit! (I’m totally making a Knit Picks order tomorrow!!!! Shhhhhh!!!!)

      Reply

  3. Heather
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 17:48:29

    It looks like you had an amazing shopping spree! I love your selection of shops….and am honored to be a part. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kaiya
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 07:16:52

    Oh my goodness, I covet your haul. All of it. @.@

    I think stitch markers are my greatest weakness. If I see beautiful stitch markers in an Etsy shop, they’ll stick with me and keep reminding me about their existence until I cave in and buy.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 27, 2012 @ 10:11:08

      I think I have the same problem…there are a couple of steampunk sets I’m going to have to go back and get from the winemakerssister shop.

      I need to make more money….

      Reply

  5. Eve
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 08:47:33

    Sigh! I wish I had your kind of wealth!!! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

