Blue & Bleu

Apparently blue is my shade at the moment and pretty much the theme of this week’s YOP/StashDash/Ravellenic Games check in!

Let’s bring on the parade of blue WIPS!

So, I’m actively working on two projects – both with Ravellenic Games deadlines. First is my Op Top hat (my project here)…


…and then there’s the spinning that I decided to throw into the mix…


Hello new skills – how you doin’? Stranding….slow moving but awwwwesome looking! I luuuuuurve it. And can you believe I’m spinning? SPINNING! (heeheeeheee!!!) After much encouragement from Pumpkin Spins and my friend Jill (and some seriously gorgeous fiber that I picked up at the weaver’s convention – see them here & here) I decided to take on the spindle. I’m a little in love. Unfortunately my attempts at spindling are looking a little interesting. Can we say a tad overspun/energized? My goal with the spinning for the Ravellenics is to get this roving (Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Roving) on the spindle. I’m going to save plying for another day…

Also, right before the Ravellenics I started another shawl (shocker – you know that I love me a shawl). I’ve wanted to start a fingering weight pi-shawl for a loooong while, but I just wasn’t drawn to one pattern enough to start it. I almost started the Leaves of Grass shawl, but I just wasn’t married to it – even after I bought all of the yarn for it. One day, however, I came across the EZ 100th Anniversary Camping Half Shawl pattern in my shawl pattern binder. I just couldn’t shake the feeling of wanting to cast it on. So even with more than enough Knit Picks Palette to do a full circle shawl – can we say 1,600+ yards in my stash – I cast on the Camping Half-Pi Shawl.


Not a ton done, but I already feel like this is going to be a great project – simple parts, difficult stretches, working with beautiful yarn that will yield beautiful results…dreamy. I’m excited – extremely excited about this shawl. I named it Something Blue; I’m not engaged or anything like that, but I am thinking/knitting ahead…Can’t wait to get back to it after the Olympics/Ravellenic Games.

Don’t fret though, I haven’t forgotten about my other two babies – my Kaya Shrug and Piper’s Journey. They are simply hibernating por un momento…

So many projects. So not enough time!


By the way…are you enjoying the Olympics? I so am. I loved the Parade of Nations (aka…The Parade of Hot Male Atheletes…hubbahubba…). And who doesn’t love gymnastics?! That’s just stupid fun to watch. As always I’m pulling for the USA, but I love it when the Russia and Romania teams show up all crazy intense and super prepared. The Russians totally have that old school “We are here to dominate!” feel to them like the old days. FREAKIN’ LOVE IT.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pumpkin
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 15:11:44

    Oh just look at that handspun! It is so beautiful! You are definitely getting a hang of it, I’m so excited! Keep up the fantastic work!

    Reply

  2. Ptinutz
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 15:53:50

    Oh the Camping shawl, I have done it, the complete one, it was fabulous to knit. I hope you will have the same experience. I really enjoy all your shade of blue and good luck for the ravellenic.

    Reply

  3. pandorra7
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 16:08:10

    I know somebody who would totally appreciate that hat!

    Reply

  4. mary
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 04:08:31

    I know nothing about spinning so overspun/energized mean nothing to me..but it sure is puurrrty

    Reply

  5. misty
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 13:08:03

    I love everything you’ve done this week! One of the (few) downsides to living in Florida is that beautiful hats like that have to be given away and I’m really too selfish for that.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jul 31, 2012 @ 13:30:21

      Hahahaahaaa!!!

      Unfortunately, this hat may go to my cousin. She’s adorable in hats. Its sickening really. Plus, I have big natural hair that I let hand out in a twisty afro a lot of the time – this hat ain’t going to fit over all of that madness at all! Wel’ll see!!!

      Reply

  6. Emma
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 07:50:47

    I love your op top hat, its gorgeous. And Im really enjoying the gymnastics too, even if GB didn’t do very well!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:17:14

      Thanks Emma!

      Hey! You guys should be proud! I was so happy when GB got third in the men’s gymnastics team final! (And some of your guys are super hot too – that’s equally important my friend). I was cheering like a mad woman!!!

      Reply

  7. Allison
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 07:26:43

    I’m a big fan of blue too. I have to force myself to pick out other colors at the yarn shop. I love that camping shawl- it’s definitely going in my queue!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Aug 03, 2012 @ 10:15:17

      Blue is just so flattering and it pretty much goes with everything.

      I will admit that my last car and my current car were blue and my new car this lease period will be teal!
      (I may go crazy next year and get red or black but I doubt it!!!)

      Reply

  8. Trackback: June & July 2012 Goals Results Show « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

