My First Handspun

Dates: July 27 to August 8, 2012

Fiber: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Roving 4 ounces

Yarn Weight: Super Bulky – 5 WIP

Yardage: Approximately 26 yards (3.5 ounces)

Spindle: Jill’s Top Whorl Drop Spindle

Notes: EEEEEEEEEEEEEE! My first handspun! I had so much fun spinning and plying this! I’m officially addicted to spinning and fiber now. Not much to say about this one. I’m still kinda shocked by the whole thing. It was just flat out fun to learn a new skill and MAKE YARN. If you’re not spinning, get to spinning. Do it. I promise good times.


Wha? What am I going to make with this, you ask – NOTHING. Are you kidding? It will live in a Ziploc to be protected from the elements and bugs and I will take it out and fondle it and hug it and snuggle with it and put it back into the Ziploc. It is special and wonderful and awesome.

StashDash 2012 > 95 grams


Big thank you’s to Jill and Ivy. So helpful and encouraging! Thanks ladies!!!


Jamaica 200m sweep. That’s what I’m talking about.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bapsi
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 22:28:00

    blaaaa it’s so cute! congratulations!

    Reply

  2. charlotteslifetranslations
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 22:40:38

    It will live in a Ziploc and I shall call it squishy and it shall be my squisy and i will love it, hug it, kiss it and marry it. Lol! Awesome job though!!

    Reply

  3. Opal @ Playing with Fiber
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 00:56:50

    You did an excellent job. I would hold onto the squishy too, it’s your first handspun after all. Congrats!

    I can’t wait to start spinning myself.

    Reply

  4. Jen
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 04:48:09

    Gorgeous! It looks so soft!

    Reply

  5. Kaiya
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 12:45:25

    Congratulations on your first handspun! I haven’t spun for a long, long time, but I can’t wait to go home so I can try out my new drop spindle!

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 18:07:26

    Congrats on your first handspun. You did an amazing job I can’t blame you for wanting to it, I haven’t touched any of my first handspuns either.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Ravellenic Glory « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

