Piper’s Continuing Journey

Ugh! I totally missed a YOP update last week!

Honestly, there are two reasons for that. First off, my ghetto neighbors have been stressing me out. Over four consecutive Saturdays, they’ve had giant parties on three of them. THREE GHETTO LOUD ASS PARTIES. It doesn’t help that they smoke tons of pot during these gatherings and that their current favorite party songs are “Bitches, Bitches, Bitches” and “Bitches Ain’t Nothing But Tricks and Ho’s” (these could be the same song…I have noooo idea). I’ve had to sweep up broken glass bottles, cigarette butts and beer cans on my property. They also like to have all of their family arguments outside on the front lawn or loud enough indoors/in the backyard so that everyone in the neighborhood can hear them.

“WHY DID YOU BREAK MY PHONE M****** F******? N*****, WHY’D YOU BREAK MY PHONE!!!! I’M GONNA TO KILL YOU!!!”

Seems like a legit conversation to have at 12:30am on a work night loud enough that all the neighborhood dogs started barking.

Stressed. Me. Out. Didn’t necessarily make me want to craft.

Second, when I did feel like crafting I worked on my 2012 Annual Dishcloth Swap dishcloths. Only 3 of the 5 dishcloths are complete, but I will update you on all that fanciness once they are all crocheted and labeled up. This year I’m using the Nubby Dishcloth pattern by Charlotte Richardson – simple but nubbilious!

But, as of yesterday or so, I finally picked up my Piper’s Journey again.


I was worried about this little girl for a while because I thought she was going to be tiny. I just didn’t feel like I was using up enough yarn. But then I got to the last 14 or so rows…these rows are so long, so, so long and eating up the yarn appropriately! I should be done with the body super soon. I only have a handful of rows left and then I get to start the knitted on border!!! And do you know what that means?

BEADS!!!

Get excited. I’m excited. The pattern doesn’t even call for beads!  Don’t matter! I have a bead beader spinning thingy, beads and everything.

Shit is about to get fancy.


Oh! And for everyone that requested a tutorial on how I did my beaded crocheted edge on my LaLa’s Simple Shawl (Colorway 10)…I’m working on that. I totally haven’t forgotten about you guys. I’ve just never done a tutorial before and I don’t want to give you guys junk instructions.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 23:54:37

    Sorry to read you have horrible neighbours, so annoying. I just finished reading this so thought it appropriate to share with you, not sure this is better/worse, but funny all the same http://www.stuff.co.nz/oddstuff/7554949/Couple-arrested-for-loud-sex

    Reply

  2. cleancup
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 01:19:22

    Your neighbors are clearly the kin to my neighbors. Favorite fight so far: Who ate all the food in the kitchen, at the top of their lungs, at 2 am, when they’re both stoned off their asses, and occasionally saying “Shhhhhh” really loudly. Oh, and the list of food in their kitchen that was eaten: two bags of dorritos, three burritos, two lunchables, and some cheese.

    Good times.

    Also, I was back-reading, and that handspun is gorgeous!

    Reply

  3. Minding My Own Stitches
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 04:41:25

    We have all this too. Our local highschool kids hang out in the park down the street to get drunk and stoned. There was a really really loud dance party one night last week, UNTIL THE PARENT GOT HOME and then it ended with ten minutes of shouting LOL. Our immediate neighbour shouts at her cat … you stupid b#tch, g@ddam piece of sh&t … really, the cat (!)

    Reply

  4. mary
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 06:52:16

    Small world, I have kin in my neck of the woods too.. Found a budweiser can in my yard this am..and I have a 6 foot stockade fence…so you know they had to lob that sucker up and over…no whoops I dropped it by mistake!… and they need to smoke enough so that it drifts my way and puts me to sleep..it’s the least they can do for me!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 09:57:46

      AGAIN! WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE???

      Why do they think throwing trash into someone elses yard is okay??? You clearly don’t want it in your yard, what makes you think I want it in mine!!!

      Don’t even get me started on the pot smoke…

      Reply

  5. Lucie
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 09:42:02

    I hope your neighbours move out soon! Sounds like a total nightmare.

    Reply

  6. Pink Diva Brat
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 00:58:08

    makes my old neighbor mowing her lawn at 6:30 a.m. Saturday morn pale in comparison….good luck….and can’t wait for the tutorial..

    Reply

  7. Emma
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 15:20:31

    I feel for you so much, we had those sorts of neighbours last year, and it’s super stressful! And yay for beads! Can’t wait to see what it looks like, since beads are something I’ve never used.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:05:45

      Supppppper stressful…and loud. Very, very loud. Todays’ musical choice at 8:00am included a new tune “I Got Bitches”. Classy.

      I just started stringing the beads this morning (you know instead of getting ready for work!). So excited!

      Reply

  8. Kim
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 20:26:25

    I just want to add…”Where do those people come from????!!” You poor things–you and the commentors who find themselves in the same boat. How terrible-on so many levels. But as least you have beads to look forward to! 😉
    *smiles and cheery thoughts sent your way, (along with eviction wishes for your neighbors)*

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:08:47

      I wish all of our crazy neighbors lived next doors to each other. That would be the best reality show EVAH…Or just an ordinary episode of Cops. Either way it would be OUTSTANDING!

      Beads! Beads! Beads!

      Reply

  9. Trackback: Fiddly « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

