Fiddly

Ughhhhh…This is what I get for trying to be fancy!

Okay…so back in this post I stated that I was going to add beads to my Piper’s Journey shawl. Seemed like a legit idea. A little beaded fanciness for the lace section of the shawl. Word.

Well, no. Fail.

First off, let me just say that it’s freakin’ fiddly and time consuming as all shit. Annoying. Secondly, for the time you have to put into getting all the beads on the yarn and then placing one on each yarnover, it doesn’t look that great.

See, alright but not so great. The beads on the left yarnovers look all squashed and crocked crazy. I fiddled with them a ton and just couldn’t get them to sit correctly. Even with the pinning out on the block boards – Blah.

So alas, I decided to just be CRAZY and follow the pattern as is without my added fancy ideas and, of course, it’s looking GREAT!

Now that’s going to block out wonderfully. And, for the love of Bob, so much faster to knit this way. You know, the way the pattern tells you to knit it.

Designers and their well thought out designs. Whatever.

***

Speaking of blocking…heeeeeee, I finally bought these:

Inspinknity blocking wires!!! Unlike most blocking wires, these can block straight edges and curved edges. And because they don’t have any memory, after you use them for curved edges they don’t stay curved…they just pop back to normal. MAGIC YO!

Check them out: Inspinknity

So much better than the wire hangers I’ve been using!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlotteslifetranslations
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 12:39:00

    Word! Love it without the funky beading.

    Reply

  2. pandorra7
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 15:58:51

    Designers – deschminers! Go with your gut! LOL

    Reply

  3. Colyn Martin
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 16:08:51

    I actually love it both ways, with and without beads. Gorgeous color, too! It’s nice to see a blog about this pattern; my grandbaby’s first name is Piper, and I was thinking about knitting it.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 06, 2012 @ 16:14:14

      You should totally knit this one up. Its super easy because about 75% of it is simple garter stitch. The lace is only 18 stitches and is an applied border. Its so cool and fast!

      Reply

  4. Julie Rose
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 09:08:26

    That’s going to be a gorgeous shawl… I love it without the beads! Anything that gives you stress to knit, well, life is just too short.

    Yay, can’t wait to hear how you like your new blocking wires!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 07, 2012 @ 09:58:47

      Yeah, adding the beads was a good idea in theory. Just in theory though!

      I can’t wait to finish this thing so that I can block it with my new wires. This is the first time I’ve been this excited about blocking a project (even though I do love the sheer magic of blocking – so awesome)!

      Reply

  5. Suzy
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 12:21:39

    Don’t you just hate when the designers know best?! Great looking knit either with our without beads, though! And I’m seriously intrigued by your blocking wires.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 07, 2012 @ 13:12:55

      Yeah, they’re a bunch of know-it-alls!!! LOL!!!

      Thanks! I’m totally going to give these wires a work out. I will report on thier suspected awesomeness when I do my FO write-up for the shawl though. =)

      Reply

  6. kimmery4
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 10:40:22

    Beads just do not interest me for those very reasons. I love your shawl as is–and those wires? Totally checking into those–maybe I will find them under my Christmas tree….note to self, “send dear husband the link in an email”!
    *smiles*

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 14:34:31

      I like the idea of using beads all the time and in every project but clearly that’s not a good idea!!! LOL!

      Do you need me to send your DH an email? “Hey Dude, Buy these for your wife. No, you don’t know me but that’s not the point. She will love them!”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

