All Zipped Up

Hey there adorable little cosmetic bag. Aren’t you just super cute!


Yup! Bag #1 for the Put it in the Bag Sewing Challenge is in the bag (ughhhh, horrible horrible pun)! I found the tutorial for this bag on Pinterest (of course) and it took just a few hours to make.


Don’t you just love that colorful pop of rainbow awesomeness on the inside?

Its a nice size too – room for lots of stuffage!


Unlike the tutorial, I put tabs on both sides of the zipper for ease of use and I didn’t cover the lining fabric with vinyl (used medium weight fusible interfacing instead). I also used a 22 inch zipper and sized it down during the construction of the bag to avoid having to sew around the zipper head (you can move the head around so you don’t have to sew near it…you just have to make sure not to cut the zipper head off with your excess zipper tape when you trim it down – which I almost did, just sayin’…).

By the way, there was also a prototype bag…booyahhh!


Looks cute and I totally love it, but if you get toooooo close you can see where I had a few issues (i.e. seams not lining up) and I made a couple of questionable decisions too (i.e. black thread against orange and white butterfly fabric…really? REALLY? really.)

I so plan to make this bag a million more times. The tutorial was great and it makes a great gift!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachelle
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 09:16:51

    These are so cute!!! I love them both!!!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Two of Three « cheletopia
  3. Ptinutz
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 17:23:43

    There are really cute and so better done than mine, but I want to thank you for your challenge otherwise I think my fabric would have stay longer unused.
    http://ptinutz-en.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/asitf-fish-and-doll.html

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tote Lovin’ « cheletopia
  5. Trackback: EPISODE 10 – ALL OR NOTHING « SkeinAfterSkein
  6. Trackback: Keep Calm and Sew On | cheletopia

Leave a Reply

