Two of Three

Bag #2 – my drawstring bag with a lining – is in the house for the Put it in the Bag Challenge!!!

I love this little bag! I was initially nervous about bringing together three different fabrics to make this per the tutorial – two for the exterior and one for the interior – because it’s simply not my strong suit. Two, yes. Three, no. But, I remember reading somewhere that if you buy fat quarters in bundles they will always work well together (it’s simply the way bundled fat quarters are suppose to work). And sure enough, I used three fabrics from a five pack fat quarter bundle and I love the combination.

So darn cute and more than enough room to hold a knitting project of the sock, shawl, fingerless mitt kind.


As for the tutorial, I really liked it. The instructions were very clear and concise and the accompanying photos were nice, clear and helpful. The only modification I made came when making the bottom of the bag square. Although it’s scarier than hell, I like to cut my corners out like in this tutorial over sewing the corners up first and then cutting them.


I just like working with less fabric and I find this method way less bulky and easier to work with when matching up seams/creases. Just a personal preference.

Yeah! Two bags done (here’s the first one) and one more to go to complete the challenge! As far as my next bag, I’m looking to make the tote from Brett Bara’s book Sewing in a Straight Line. When I thought up this challenge, this was the first pattern I decided on and I haven’t wavered. My only issue is picking the perfect fabric for it…granted I’ve purchased fabric for it, I’m just not completely sold on what I’ve bought so far. Of course. Fickle.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 05:27:43

    I must have one..i cannot sew a stitch..but love this!

    Reply

  2. Colyn Martin
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 09:47:05

    I love this! I desperately want to start quilting but I want to start out with small projects instead jumping in and buying all the things and getting overwhelmed. This is great inspiration, and a great excuse to buy those fat quarters at the store that I long for but never know what to do with!

    Reply

  3. charlotteslifetranslations
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:50:43

    gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. Emma
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 04:50:57

    Those bags are sock cute! And the perfect size, I love it!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: EPISODE 9 – WRAP THAT SH!T UP! « SkeinAfterSkein
  6. Ptinutz
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 20:44:46

    Your bag is really cute. I have been the lazy one for this one, no lining, no speacial bottom, just ply the tissu in 2….
    http://ptinutz-en.blogspot.com/2012/09/asitf-first-bag.html

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Tote Lovin’ « cheletopia
  8. Trackback: EPISODE 10 – ALL OR NOTHING « SkeinAfterSkein

Leave a Reply

