Tote Lovin’


Whaaaaaaa!!! Final bag of the Put it in the Bag Challenge is in the books!!!

So love this bag. So Love! It’s sturdy and roomy and I love the colors!

Look at the inside!!!


Both the exterior and lining for this bag are cut from upholstery fabric. Very expensive, even with a coupon, expensive upholstery fabric.  But I have to admit that I have a fair amount left of both pieces of fabric (because upholstery fabric is very wide) and this stuff makes for a great bag.

I got this pattern from Brett Bara’s Sewing in a Straight Line.  The pattern was very clear and easy to follow (I know that I say that a lot, but I only like to working from well written patterns – I don’t like wasting time trying to figure out what a author/designer meant to say).  The only modification I made was to the straps.  I didn’t like the way the interior material looked as straps so I just continued to use the exterior material without any trim as straps and I think it came out great.


Although I think the bag is pretty classy and done really well, Bailey isn’t impressed.  That’s okay though, I’m really happy with this bag and the other bags I made for this challenge (here and here). 

I hope everyone enjoyed this challenge and has some great bags to show for it!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ptinutz
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 06:19:49

    Happy to see you finish the challenge too. My last bag was quite a fight, but I win. I like the fabric you used!
    http://ptinutz-en.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/asitf-fijis-memory.html
    Good Luck with the cold. I catch one when I came back from holiday, my only thought was: why I had to come back!

    Reply

  2. corey
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 16:03:25

    love the pic of Bailey with the bag but my perspective is off. I’m guessing the bag isn’t huge and Bailey is just a short guy. Is it an oversized bag? Also, it’s very lovely.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 02, 2012 @ 10:24:38

      Bailey is a little guy but he’s a solid 18 pounds of lovin’. Its a decent size tote bag – I will post measurement soon. But I will say this, to make it stand up and look pretty for the photographs, I actually stuffed it with another tote bag of mine that was full with a spinning project. Its pretty hearty!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: EPISODE 10 – ALL OR NOTHING « SkeinAfterSkein
  4. blueadt
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 15:41:50

    Great bag. Would you recommend the book?

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 21, 2012 @ 20:14:00

      HECK YEAH!

      Its a great book no matter where you are in your sewing career. Some very cute patterns that require basic sewing skills. If you are a beginner it will be good for you because you just need to know the basics and you will learn a lot in the process of working with patterns in the book. If you have some sewing under your belt, you will be able to knock out the projects with ease.

      If you are on the fence about the book, just buy it. Its a good book to have around for small projects, large projects and gifts. I highly recommend it (and my friends that keep trying to steal my copy do also!). 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

