Piper’s Journey

Pattern: Piper’s Journey by Paula Emons-Fuessle (my project: Piper’s Journey)
Yarn: Quince & Co. Chickadee
Colorway: Split Pea (130)
Needles: US 6 circulars (Knit Picks Nickel Plated)
Dates: June 1, 2012 to October 14, 2012
Skills: Basics and yarnovers (single & double), k2tog and skp.

Notes: This was a great knit! Don’t let my start and finish dates fool you, this shawl was a fairly quick knit (it really should have taken about a month or so). Gotta love miles of mindless garter followed by a simple applied/knitted on lace border. This is a must knit. It’s a fairly easy knit, even for a first time knitter – even with the lace borders. I highly recommend this knit. Knit it.


Note on the yarn – awesomesauce. Soft and squishy before blocking and amazing after blocking.

Buy it. Knit with it.


Blocking this was super easy – I used my new Inspinknity Premium Super Long Blocking Wires (67″). These things are the business. It took maybe 15 to 20 minutes to block this shawl out…maybe… Hello and what up to not having to pin out every point.


Buy them. Block with them.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. britney
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 22:39:45

    what a beautiful shawl, well done!
    this looks like it may make a good beginner shawl project for me.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 23:05:15

      Thank you!!!

      Yes!!! Knit it! Knit it! You will learn a ton from in and end up with a great shawl!

      Reply

  2. Minding My Own Stitches
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 04:59:24

    Hahahah, I love this post – Buy it Knit it Buy it! All joking aside, I think you have convinced me about buying blocking wires 🙂 Your shawl is beautiful and it looks lovely on you. Well done!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 15, 2012 @ 11:01:04

      Purchase!!! Purchase!!!

      Those blocking wires are awesome and worth the money. I highly recommend them…they are also way better than the wire hangers I was using before!

      Reply

  3. Colyn Martin
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 08:25:35

    What a gorgeous shawl! I love this so much. My granddaughter’s first name is Piper; I need to knit it for her mom for Mother’s Day.

    Reply

  4. charlotteslifetranslations
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 10:10:23

    Gorgeous!!!

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 10:51:46

    So pretty! That color looks awesome on you!

    Reply

  6. Underground Crafter
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 17:40:43

    It’s awesome! I think your post just convinced me to buy blocking wires…

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 15, 2012 @ 17:42:49

      Thanks!

      Do it! Blocking wires are the business!!!!! Especially the ones I bought! So. Worth. The. Money.

      Reply

  7. Erin McDonald
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 03:08:16

    You are on the money with your love of this pattern. I have made two and they are easy, fun, and turn out so beautiful. Have you checked out Ellison Bay? I made it in a week and love the twisted stitch border. As for blocking wires…. they might seem pricey and unnecessary but they make the last step of a project so much easier!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:36:28

      Yup!!! Awesome pattern and I totally plan to make another one at some point!!!

      Blocking wires are the business, especially the flexible ones! I didn’t get the super expensive ones – I bought the mid-ranged super long ones. Totally worth every penny.

      Reply

  8. babygreens
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 10:07:36

    That’s gorgeous, I love the colour! Sold on the blocking wires too 🙂

    Reply

  9. Lisa
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 17:30:39

    Lovely!

    Reply

  10. Emma
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 07:34:54

    Very nice, love the colour, it definitely suits you!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Oct 18, 2012 @ 10:24:16

      Thanks! When I was shopping online (at work of course) I kept looking at that color wondering if it would look good on me. Then I looked at the hoodie I was wearing and realized it was the exact same color as the yarn. So yeahhhhhh…I bought it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

