WIPpin’ Along

Since I finnnnnally finished my Piper’s Journey last week, I got to start something new!!!


A scarf! The Noro Stripe Scarf to be exact (my project: Abstract Spectrum). Eve and I are doing this scarf as a KAL over on the Skein after Skein podcast Ravelry group. We decided to call it the Fake Noro KAL – Fnoro KAL for short – because Noro is just tooooooo expensive, and sometimes very scratchy, so we’re all about the look-a-likes. Our favorite – Red Heart Boutique Treasures. Looks like Noro, but way softer and waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay less expensive (like 25% of the price).

Here it is in Spectrum and Abstract…



PRETTTTYYYY…sooooo soft too. Love it!

Seriously, this couldn’t be any better timed here in Southern California. Lately, it’s either been crazy ass hot or freezing ass cold. Okay, granted when I say crazy ass cold it’s really only like 60 degrees, but I’m a native Los Angeles girl and that’s freakin’ cold for me!!! So enter my first knitted scarf! Go me!

And since this is me, you know I gots me a shawl on the needles…


I recently picked it up my EZ 100th Anniversary Pi Shawl: Camping (my project: Something Blue) again and knocked out a few chart repeats. I really love how this is coming along. I love the color. I love how light and airy it is too. I’m thinking about adding beads at some point glitz it up a little bit and to add a little weight to it. I know, I know…but I’ve seen other people do it for this pattern so at least I have some reference point…harhar! Stop judging me…I want to add beads to something!!! Don’t crush my dreams!

So, moving along thru my Year of Projects – 2012-2013 list and it feels great to scratch another project off the list and get to knitting on other ones. Here’s to progress!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. britney
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 20:47:43

    well done, i love the color combo!
    i’m actually a little bit annoyed by the weather here too–two weeks ago it was wonderfully cold, making me think the cold season’s finally come–but then it jumped back up into the 80s-90s. god cali, make up your mind.

    Reply

  2. Minding My Own Stitches
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 20:52:04

    Love the scarf. This morning it was 9°C (48 degrees Farenheit) and we were commenting about how mild it was 🙂

    The pi Shawl looks lovely too. It’s a very summery sky blue!

    Reply

  3. Suzy
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 13:09:27

    Hook-a-likes. Love that! LOL

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 08:57:43

    I agree about the Noro being expensive and scratchy. I know some people love it, but I never understood it’s appeal because of those two factors. Good to know there’s an alternative. Your color choices are awesome, by the way 🙂

    Reply

  5. Emma
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 03:48:30

    Looking great, I really like the look of the yarn you’re using for the scarf, i find Noro really scratchy as well! And the blue of that shawl is gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

