Stripes and More Stripes

Finally! Some progress!!!  46 inches of progress!!!


Been knitting away at my Noro Striped Scarf (my project: Abstract Spectrum) and finally making some headway!

I know that a ton of people have commented about how boring it is to knit because its miles and miles of knit one purl one knit one purl one knit one purl one but I don’t mind it too much. Its football and basketball season so I can sit and watch a game and mindlessly knit on it.

However, this thing is eating up some yarn something serious. Naively (apparently), I only bought two skeins of yarn to make this scarf – one each of Abstract and Spectrum (Red Heart Boutique Treasure) – and started knitting. And knitting and knitting and knitting. Then one day I was reading on the KAL board and I noticed that someone bought four skeins of yarn. FOUR? Say whaaaaa?

I looked down at my two skeins and said to myself…”Shit. I’m not going to have enough yarn to make this as long as I want.”

But then I thought “Ohhhh, I get to buy yarn. Word.” Off to the craft store!

I’m about 46 inches in and still working on with my original skeins. Hopefully I will only have to use a little bit of the second set of skeins and have more than enough to maybe make a matching hat using the Turn a Square beanie pattern. THAT WILL BE CUTE RIGHT!!! You know, for the three days out of the year I will be able to wear them as a set. Cuz really, it was in the high 80’s today and it’s NOVEMBER.

Speaking of keeping warm and toasty, I’m also working on a quilt!


So how happenin’ is my quilt top? I used a Kona Cotton Solids fabric jelly roll called Silent Film (Robert Kaufman Fabrics) from Material Girl Chic on Etsy and this video tutorial to make this bad boy. SUPER FAST AWESOMENESS!!! Like four hours maybe? I still have the backing, binding and the actually quilting to take care of, but whoa! A quilt top! SUPER PLEASED.

But, as much as I love the quilt top, I love the look on Bailey’s face even more – “WHAT?!” Heeheehee…he cracks me up.

One last thing…not a project but a purchase. A sexy purchase! Heeeeheheheehehehe…


I finally bought my second set of Knit Picks interchangeable circulars – HARMONY STYLE! These babies FINALLY went on sale and I immediately bought them. They are so gorgeous and so nice and I want to cast on something new so I can get to using them. And don’t think I didn’t consider doing just that (almost cast on the Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief to be exact). But, alas, I showed some self control and kept on knitting on my striped scarf.

Look at me! Self control!…….Oh look! Chocolate chip shortbread cookies!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babygreens
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 01:56:07

    woo hoo! multiple stripey mind-blowing multi-crafting! Gorgeous gorgeous stuff, and ENJOY your new needles 🙂 and your new yarn of course 😀

    Reply

  2. Sarah - Crafts from the Cwtch
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 03:44:24

    Wow – so many lovely stripes!

    Those needles look exactly the same as KnitPros – are they the same with just different branding, I wonder?

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:46:45

      Thanks!

      I was wondering the same thing! I’ve seen the KnitPro items in British knitting mags and thought “HEY! Those look like Knit Pick needles…I wonder…” I’m guessing that they are totally the same!!!

      Reply

  3. cleancup
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 17:14:04

    I have a striped scarf going, and I feel the never-ending pain. But, it is excellent mindless knitting, and you can put it down for ages without losing you place in the pattern!

    Reply

  4. mary
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 01:51:37

    Bailey’s got a “what the hell?” look on his face..adorable.. I don’t quilt but congrats on your progress… Football and Bball games are stockinette stitch patterns only for me!

    Reply

  5. Vicky Lynn
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 11:58:27

    Uh, oh! By friending me on Rav you’ve invited me to stalk your blog! Yeah, the quilt is really pretty, makes me want to take that sewing class that’s been on my to-do list. Cool!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 12:57:53

      I approve your stalking theory!!!! Stalk on sister!!!!
      (like it doesn’t go both ways!!! heheheheeh)

      Thanks! Take a good sewing class and then buy a good sewing book. Like with any craft, its good to have a really good reference book around. You know, for those times when its 3am and you can’t figure out what the hell is going on with your french seam!

      Reply

  6. Susan
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 12:16:18

    Your dog is adorable, but the feet under the blanket had me cracking up! I thought the quilt was hanging on the wall until I noticed them!

    Reply

  7. Emma
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:52:16

    That quilt is beautiful, it’ll look so amazing when it’s finished! And yay for progresson never ending scarves!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Cappuccio « cheletopia

Leave a Reply

