A Change in the Force

Okay, maybe not as dramatic as that…

I’ve been looking at my Year of Projects list and doing some soul search. I have some time off for all of the upcoming holidays and I really want what knitting time I’m going to have between now and the end of the year to be used wisely. So some harsh decisions had to be made.

First and foremost, I frogged my Kaya Cropped Raglan Shrug (my project: Shoulder Shrug)


Trust me, it hurt my heart to frog that project. But, I really don’t think the combination of the yarn, the pattern and my body shape was the best decision. I really think this same pattern in a solid colored yarn (with enough yardage to make it a long sleeved) will be the better option.

I also revisited my earlier ideas of making the Koi Socks and the Holden Shawlette. After taking a look at the tags on Ravelry for the Koi Sock pattern, I realized that these are two at a time toe up socks. Yeahhhhhh, no. Not quite there yet with my sock knitting. I honestly would like to conquer a simple magic-loop, toe up sock one at a time first before I jump on the pattern crazy two at a time bus. I love jumping into complicated projects all crazy like, but this just wasn’t the project for that type of new construction – for me at least.

As far as the Holden Shawlette goes, I love it and I have the perfect yarn for it. I really do! But I took a really good look at all of the shawls I have on my list and honestly said to myself, “You ain’t gonna finish all of them. Just sayin’…”

So no more Kaya Shrug. Peace out Koi Socks. Buh-bye Holden Shawlette. Until we meet again my loves.

*heavy sigh*

Nooooow, my list feels, well short. Light if you will. I was also looking forward to getting rid of these HUGE skeins of James C. Brett Marble Chunky that I was going to use for the Kaya Shrug! Those things are freakin’ bulky as hell!

Well, to solve this first world problem, I went to Ravelry and poked around to see what other people have done with their GIGANTOR skeins of the Marble Chunky. Well guess what! There’s a lot you can do with one of those things! First of all there’s the GAP-tastic Cowl by Jen Geigley (photos from the pattern that can be found on Ravelry):



LOVE! Cute, right!? Love it long AND love it short! It also only takes one skein! Why does using up only one skein of the two that I have make me happy you ask? Because it leaves one skein to make the Capucine by Adela Illichmanova (photos from the pattern that can be found on Ravelry):


Different but very, very, very cool. I plan to get rid of all those tassels and replace the ear ones with braids – maybe.

This hat will be for cold winter days and nights (and evening live sporting events!) because it sooooo covers the ears. I hate it when my ears are cold! Hate. It.

So excited! All is right in my YOP world again.

*happy sigh*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pandorra7
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 20:50:23

    Ooooh – you’re making the GAP cowl. So. love. it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

