Cappuccio

Pattern: Dew Drop Cowl by Kelly Kingston (my project: Cappuccio)
Yarn: Noro Chirimen
Colorway: 6B
Needles: US 10 interchangeable circulars (Knit Picks Harmony)
Dates: November 5, 2012 to November 24, 2012
Skills: Cast-on & bind-off, knit & purl, decrease (k2tog) & increase (yo)

Notes: This little cowl came about due to my total lack of self control. I just had to use my new Knit Picks Harmony Interchangeables! And let me tell you, they are wonderful! They are sharp, slick, quiet and absolutely beautiful (which I talk about here and you can buy them here). They. Are. Wonderful. I’m so glad I broke down and bought them when I found them on sale. Yes, they are not cheap in anyway, but they are worth every single penny. Listen to your Auntie Chele, buy them. Buy them now.

Anyway, this pattern is super simple and yields a great cowl that can wrap around your neck once for style or twice for warmth (and style!). Even though the pattern was well written and easy enough to follow, I made a few mods. Some just because and some because I was knitting on this late one night and made a couple of mistakes.

My modifications::

  • Used a DK weight yarn (a gift from my friend Jill over at Jill & Jill)
  • I started and ended with two ridges of garter (did this to fight against the cowl rolling in on itself but it still rolls in a tad)
  • For the body of the cowl (after the first row of k2tog-yo and before the final row of k2tog-yo row) I did the following: 12 rows of knitting, a row of k2tog-yo, 5 rows of knitting, another row of k2tog-yo and then 12 more rows of knitting
  • I did a crochet bind-off with a size I crochet hook (my favorite bind-off!)

I’m super happy with how this came out. As usual, the Noro knitted up great. I love the green and orange stripes! They add a great little pop of color that I really love because it looks cheerful and contrasty. I can’t wait to rock it on a date or an evening out with friends with my winter coat. YEAH!

This is another great pattern that knits up super fast, looks great and would make a fabulous gift – and with the holidays coming up super fast, this is a good one to keep in mind!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 04:22:21

    Cowls do make the greatest gifts with the least amount of effort.. I am waiting for knit picks to have a different sale of inter changeables..not the harmony, but I might be swayed by your review.. I tend to prefer a metal needle as I am such a tight knitter and need a sharp point..

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 09:53:40

      All of the interchangeable are on sale right now so HURRRRRRRY!

      I too like a sharp needle and the Harmony tips seem to be just as sharp as the nickel plated set (which I also have and freakin’ love!)

      Reply

  2. Bobbi
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 04:40:30

    I, too, have been seduced by the sexy Harmonies. Sometimes I use them just to look at the colors and feel the smoothness.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 07:36:04

      I gotta say its as good as buying sexy shoes and wearing them just to wear them – like to the grocery store. I’m so glad I broke down and ordered them!

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 13:00:37

    Looks awesome! I have a lot of problems with KnitPicks orders being delivered to my house (I suspect my mailman steals them…), but if I thought I would ever see them, I would be in the same boat with needles as you are!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 14:54:51

      Whaaaaa! That’s crazy!!!! I think that’s why my coworker (that is a crazy online shopper) gets everything delivered to our job. Just easier and safer that way.

      Reply

  4. Sarah - Crafts from the Cwtch
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 11:31:14

    It’s gorgeous – I love that colourway (and am a Noro fan too). I keep thinking that Knit Picks and Knit Pro are the same – they look the same as my KnitPros. We have KnitPro here in Europe and they both have “harmony” interchangeables which look identical – too much of a coincidence, right? They must be the ame company…?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

