Off the Radar

Sorry so quiet lately. You know how it is…holiday parties, shopping, tattoos, CHRISTMAS, and now…bronchitis. Good times.

*cough cough cough hack hack hack*

Although I’m totally exhausted from my illness and my various prescription drug intake – I love me a Rx inhaler – I wanted to check in and let you know what I’ve been up to on the crafty front (more updates on other stuff coming up lattttter!)

First off, I made a cowl for my friend Junko for her birthday/Christmas/European adventure.


She’s special/super silly…


I love this cowl (pattern: Lyndhurst Cowl > my project: Aurora Borealis). So easy and I loved using the Lion Brand Amazing yarn held double. The color feathering and coziness of it is, well, amazing. I really wanted to keep it. REALLY wanted to keep it. But, alas, it was promised to Junko, so off to Germany and Austria it went!

Next I realized I was over my hands freezing when walking my cute little fur love. Therefore, fingerless mitts had to happen. Enter the Half-A-Skein-And-Two-Hours Mitts (my project: Pinktacular Mitts)!


Yes. Very pink. Verrrry pink. But seriously, I don’t even care. It’s been freakin’ cold here in Los Angeles lately (it was 44 degrees earlier today!). Apparently we are suffering from this thing called “winter”. Lame. #freezingmyassoff

Can I stray any further off my Year of Projects list? YES I CAN!

I’ve also been working on a new hat with the coolest construction. Two words for you: flat and parallelogram.


Lovvvve the stripes and the ribbing and the mindless backloop single crochet. Excited! Pattern: Give it a Whirl Hat > my project: Whirlie Swirlie.

This next pattern wasn’t originally on my YOP list, but it is now (so there!). I realized/decided that I needed a worsted weight lacey crocheted shawl…I realized/decided this when I came across Dory.


I love the colors. Love the colors. The colors! I so can’t wait to finish this. I’ve finished the edging since I’ve taken the above picture and I only have the weaving of ends and blocking left. Hopefully, now that I’m all doped up on the good Rx stuff, I will feel better over the next couple of days and be able to wrap this up (my project: Citronnelle).

So there you have it! My crafty adventures for the month of December! Woot woot wo-cough cough cough hack hack sniff…woot.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 03:16:21

    Oooh tattoo, where are the pictures? And I really hope you feel better soon, bronchitis is rubbish! That cowl is really beautiful, I’m jelous of your friends!

    Reply

  2. Underground Crafter
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 08:28:53

    The cowl is so pretty, I can see why you didn’t want to give it away. And I love the colors on the shawl, too!

    Reply

  3. paulineos
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:29:40

    Very impressive output, for a sick girl! You definitely deserve a beautiful cowl of your own, and lots of postcards or Mozartkugeln from Austria…

    Reply

  4. mary
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:04:34

    I had been wondering what that Bernat mosaic would look like…the stripes are nice.. Sorry bout the bronchitis…recover soon..and the damn cough can linger…
    Happy Nude Rear..(that’s my official NYE greeting)

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:40:34

      I love the Bernat Mosaic! Nice loooong stripes, Noro like look but super soft. I looove it and plan to use it many many times more.

      HAPPY NUDE REAR!!!
      LOL!!!

      Reply

  5. Minding My Own Stitches
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:25:50

    Oh what I would give for a 44° day 🙂

    Sorry about your bronchitis. That cowl is gorgeous … and looks great on your friend. I can definitely see why it’d be tough to give away. Maybe you need to add one to the list for yourself?

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:57:23

      44 degrees is loooooow for Los Angeles. It made me feel – cold!!! I no like that feeling!!!

      Love the cowl and I realllllly think I need to make myself one. Thank goodness its realllly fast!

      Reply

  6. Cris
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 16:05:19

    Sorry you are feeling cruddy 😦 The good news is that cowl looks spectacular and I love your fingerless gloves. I also added the whirly hat to my queue – thanks for sharing the link!

    Reply

  7. Sandra Licher
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 16:28:21

    I love all your projects and definitely put that cowl on my “favs” list! Gorgeous! I’m so sorry you are sick,,that’s awful especially during the holidays. Happy New Year and thanks for the update….come back soon!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 18:27:50

      I luuuuuuuv that cowl. Love love love! My friend just posted a picture from Germany and it looks great on her (and it looks hella cold there).

      Happy New Year!!!!

      Reply

  8. sandy
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 17:18:20

    LOVE the cowl, despite being ill looks to me like you’ve been really busy. Hope you’re feeling better now.

    Reply

  9. sandy
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 17:19:20

    ooophs, think I goofed up the link, above so here you are

    Reply

  10. Kim
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 00:00:22

    Oh dear–lots of that nasty bronchitis going around right now. I hope those drugs do kick in soon—I dodged a bullet earlier this month when I caught a terrible cold–cold viruses and asthma don’t play nice together very often. I love your cowl and think your friend is very lucky–and your cowl..those colors! I adore them and the laciness of the pattern.
    *smiles and thoughts of healing sent your way*

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 18:40:11

      Thanks…apparently this nastiness is going around my office. My friend is currently sick in Las Vegas equally as sick. NASTY.

      Thanks! I love that cowl toooooo. I just look at the pictures and think…man I love that yarn! I hate it took me so long to get around to knitting it. I’ve had that pattern printed out for mooooonnnnnths!

      Reply

  11. Kim
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 00:01:19

    Oh dear–lots of that nasty bronchitis going around right now. I hope those drugs do kick in soon—I dodged a bullet earlier this month when I caught a terrible cold–cold viruses and asthma don’t play nice together very often. I love your cowl and think your friend is very lucky–and your shawl …those colors! I adore them and the laciness of the pattern.
    *smiles and thoughts of healing sent your way*

    Reply

  12. Michelle
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 09:27:16

    Oh, yes, Christmas tattoos. A time treasured tradition… 😀 LOL. Looking forward to pictures! Love the cowl and the mitts!

    Reply

  13. kate
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 08:20:13

    Such lovely colours! Pretty projects too. Wishing you get well soon and Happy New Year!

    Reply

  14. DeliaKnits
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 04:17:28

    Love the colors of the shawl. Seems like the whole country is sick. Glad the drugs are working for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

