Citronnelle

Pattern: Dory by Lisa Gutierrez (my project: Citronnelle)

Yarn: Paton’s Classic Wool Worsted

Colorway: Lemongrass & Dark Grey Mix

Hook: US J (Boye)

Dates: December 19, 2012 to January 2, 2013

Skills: Chaining, single crochet, double crochet (double crochet around the post)

Notes: This shawl was so easy and so fast! Had I not gotten sick while working on this, I would have knocked this out in a few nights. The pattern was fairly easy to follow – except for the lace. There was one part that wasn’t particularly clear to me, but after looking at a couple of close-up photos on Raverly I figured it out (I don’t want to give away too much detail on the pattern because it isn’t free > its $2.50 so you gotta pay to play!).


Although this is a worsted weight shawl, it’s very, very airy and light. It’s far too cold for something this light right now. It’s freezing and raining! I do think it will be great for church Sundays. The AC is always going full blast in that place and it’s always nice to have something to cover the shoulders.

And can I just say, I LOVE THE COLOR COMBINATION!!! Yellow and grey is very trendy these days and I’m a big fan. It’s very modern and crisp and I love it.

This is another one of those great, fast gift projects. It’s very fast, doesn’t take a ton of yarn, the color combinations are endless and you get beautiful results.

Oh, if you don’t know how to crochet, GET ON IT. This is great beginner’s project and any experienced crocheter can help you with the edging if you too find it confusing.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Uncle Philip
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:36:42

    I’m tellin about this tooooooo.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 03:32:45

    I really love the shawl and by beginner do you mean someone who just knows the stitches lol, thats me but I’m going to add it to my fav’s and work up to it. I really love the colour combo as well, very fresh and lovely for when the days start to warm up.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 10:12:11

    The colors compliment each other very well! This looks like a fun project to work on. And, the end result is gorgeous.

    Reply

  4. sandy
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 11:32:35

    I’ve always loved yellow and gray, classy I think; but didn’t know it was trendy now. Glad to know that…I have lots of yellow yarn at home and so maybe….now you’ve got me thinking. Using hubby’s computer, while we’re out; and the picture looks blue and green to me. Will have to check it on return to see the real colors.

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 12:58:25

    This is so pretty. I’m finding so many pretty crocheted things on blogs lately that I want to dig up my old hooks. Hmm. Bad influences… 😉

    Reply

  6. kimmery4
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 15:50:27

    Wow~ I love the yellow and gray combination! I never thought I would want to crochet as I have only been knitting for 3 years and still feel like such an inexperienced one at that–the idea of doing something new just didn’t appeal to me. But lately? I have been considering it….
    *smiles*

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 16:38:00

      DOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ITTTTTTTTTTTTT!! Crochet is so much fun!!! And let me tell you, knowing how to do both means you can make ANY pattern you come across!!!

      Reply

  7. mary
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 04:34:46

    Yeah…what’s up with the yellow and gray everywhere… not complaining..it’s a great combination, and yours looks fab..

    Reply

  8. Minding My Own Stitches
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:11:55

    Very cute. I like the colour combo too, but I can’t wear those kind of yellow tones at all. Just the thing for AC, but it’s funny to think of that now with snow on the ground and the wind howling 🙂

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:58:09

      Trust me – even in the winter the AC is going full tilt!! I go to a large church and there are a lot of bodies in each service so I they are just trying to keep us from over heating!

      Reply

  9. babygreens
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 12:50:48

    I love the colours that you choose for your projects, that’s lovely. I agree completely about the crochet, there’s something refreshingly quick and dirty about it compared to knitting. Of course I would not be saying that if I ever crocheted anything smaller than a blanket with a hook any smaller than 4mm. Though smaller hooks are great for picking up dropped stitches in socks.

    Reply

  10. Emma
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 03:08:17

    Gorgeous shawl, i love the colours!

    Reply

  11. Pumpkin
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 16:31:29

    I don’t see that color combination often and I’m really not sure why because it is so cute! That looked like an addictive pattern to knit too. It looks like the perfect shawl for spring : )

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 16:42:53

      RIGHT!?!?! Its just something cool about that combination! My work bbf has a couple of tops in this same color combination and I love them all. Its just a good combo that oddly looks good on everyone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

