Whirlie Swirlie

Pattern: Give it a Whirl Hat by Adrienne Lash (my project: Whirlie Swirlie)

Yarn: Bernat Mosaic

Colorway: Fantasy

Hook: US J (Boye)

Dates: December 25, 2012 to January 11, 2013

Skills: Chaining, single crochet in the back loop, decreases and increases

Notes: Love the construction of this hat. Basically you crochet a parallelogram, fold it up, stitch up the sides and gather the top. Easy-peasy


Not only is it easy, it shows off long color repeat yarn beautifully.


My only problem with this hat is the fit. It just doesn’t look cute on me no matter how much I try. However, I think it will be adorable on my cousin Tiana. I may give it to her if she likes it or just keep it for super cold days because it is nice and warm and covers the ears nicely.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 06:42:48

    This is really cute! I hear you on fit though. Every time I make a hat, I make myself understand beforehand that it’s a gamble, and I probably won’t like how it looks.

    Reply

  2. Cris
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 09:19:07

    Very cute 🙂 I made a dish scrubbie like that – but it was joining both ends and other fun stuff that confused me for a little bit *laughs* I really like the hat – great job!

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 10:27:23

    I’m the same knit a hat then won’t wear it, have lots gathering dust, your is very pretty though

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 11:33:01

    The colors and the construction in this hat are great! Maybe the fit will grow on you.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 23, 2013 @ 11:41:50

      Cooool construction right!!! I hope you’re right about the fit,because I totally wore it out this morning while walking my little guy without looking at myself in the mirror!!! I couldn’t have looked crazy OR cute. Who knows!!!

      LOL!!!

      Reply

  5. Pumpkin
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 17:34:37

    I’m not sure how that hat couldn’t be cute no matter what, but I’ll trust you on this one. The construction of this project really interests me, crochet is like this wonderful mystical world to me!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 23, 2013 @ 17:46:17

      I have to fess up…Its soooooo pretty in person!!! I love just looking at it!!!! THE COLORS!!!

      I’ve seen your granny squares! They look so good. I can’t wait to see what you do with them!!!

      Reply

  6. sandy
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 06:46:03

    Very cool! It does indeed show up the color changes nicely. Very interested, haven’t seen anything quite like that before. Sorry it doesn’t work well for you….if you want to find a good home for it, be happy to accept it as a donation to Bridge and Beyond. Gonna check out the pattern link you left.

    Reply

  7. DeliaKnits
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 09:56:54

    very neat

    Reply

  8. Emma
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 09:25:45

    Love the hat, you’re right it shows off the colours perfectly. It’s so annoying it doesn’t fit though, have you tried giving it a good blocking?

    Reply

  9. babygreens
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 06:47:58

    So pretty! I’m sure you’ll find a great home for it. I’ve spent the week in an un-cute hat, but at several degrees below freezing I didn’t care 🙂

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 10:34:27

      That’s exactly where I am right now. Function over fashion! Its been suppppppper cold in the mornings lately so whatevs!!!! On my head it goes!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

