WIP Walk of Shame

Ughhhhh…WIPs…They’re haunting my dreams these days!

A few nights ago I pulled out all of my works in progress the other night and it was just shameful. Afghans, socks, sweater, shawls…SHAMEFUL!!!

*no photo because it’s just shamefulllllll*

So *deep breath* I’ve decided not to start any new projects I wrap up or frog a significant amount of my WIPs.

Yeah, I said it. No. New. Projects. Yes, a harsh line to take but it must be done.

So with that in mind, of the projects that I have languishing around, these are the three I want to wrap up by the end of February.

1) Basic Ribbed Sock (my project: Sokkies)


Original Start Date: January 23rd, 2011

Notes: Seriously, two years to make one pair of socks? TWO YEARS? And still on the first sock? Really? It’s not like this is some complicated sock pattern. I mean really, 90% of the sock is 3×1 ribbing with the rest of it being stockinette. Ugh. Gotta wrap this shit up.

2) Modern Garden Cardigan (my project: Garden Party)


Original Start Date: February 15, 2011

Notes: Creeping up on two years its two year anniversary. Hopefully I can knock this out fairly quickly. The majority of the body is done and it just needs sleeves and a yoke. Seriously, its bulky yarn on US 15…this should have taken a couple of weeks.

3) Elise Shawl (my project: Raisin in the Sun)


Original Start Date: January 8, 2013

Notes: Granted I started this a few weeks ago, but I’ve half been working on it. You know, a row here, a row there…whatever, some people have knocked this thing out in a couple of days. I’m already kissing the month mark and I’m not even halfway done.

I gotta wrap these projects up. Like ‘chop-chop’ style.

(I must admit, I secretly want to wrap up the Modern Garden Cardigan so my needles will be free to make Stephen West’s Garter Squish – it looks sooooooo squishy and it will totally eat up some of my stash – which is a whoooole other post…)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 06:44:18

    i am right there with ewe. I could hear your voice in my head and see you nod as I pulled mine out. But im not gonna get mine out or any other project till i finish the Goddess mystery shawl im doing. no coffee yet so fingers don’t wnt to type right.

    Reply

  2. pandorra7
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 09:53:59

    Hmmmmm – looks like I won the Modern Garden Challenge. BY ABOUT 2 YEARS!!!!! Get on with it. LOL

    Reply

  3. Monique
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 14:19:22

    I understand. Your projects are really cute. If you can find that feeling you had when you first started them…

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Feb 04, 2013 @ 10:12:45

      …I’m fueled by my original knittinglust for each project AND my need to wrap shit up! * NO LOOSE ENDS*

      (that and I really want to cross off as many items as possible from my YOP list before the end of June!)

      Reply

  4. Nin
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 14:04:05

    I hear an excellent mantra in the making … “NO LOOSE ENDS!!!” You can do it girl! Plus Stephen West’s stuff is so fantastic, it’ll be like the chocolate on the string urging you on. (mmmm, chocolate and knitting, nom nom nom)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

