Sokkies

Pattern: Basic Ribbed Socks by Kate Atherley (my project: Sokkies)
Yarn: Red Heart Heart & Sole with Aloe
Colorway: Rustica
Needles: Clover US 2 DPNs and then a 48″ circular
Dates: January 23, 2011 to February 16, 2013
Skills: knit, purl, long tail cast-on, picking up stitches, short-rows, ssk & k2tog decreases

Notes: Love these socks. Not the softest or prettiest yarn, but I love them nonetheless (I love the random magenta stripe!). Nothing fancy here for theses honeys, 3×1 ribbing and basic sock construction. A great first sock and a great and fast knit up for a last minute gift.

I started these on DPNs and knit up most of the first sock on them. But then I put them down for a year and change. During that year I learned how to knit socks using the magic loop method on one giant circular needle by doing the VeryPink.com magic loop tutorial and pattern (my project: It’s Like Magic Y’all!!!). Changed my life y’all. When I decided to finish these I promptly went to Joann’s Etc and picked up the longest US 2 circulars they had and moved them over to them.

Booooooom!

New socks.

Now that I’ve completed my first pair of socks on circulars with actual sock yarn I feel like the (sock knitting) world is mine! Which is good, you know, seeing how I have a shitload of sock yarn stashed away in my closet.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 03:53:58

    Love the socks and well done on completing them and yes now with the first pair under your belt the world of socks is now yours to own !

    Reply

  2. Colyn Martin
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 13:06:06

    I have that yarn, and I’ve made socks from it with that very pattern! I love Red Heart Heart and Soul; it wears like iron and the price is right.
    I also like the doggie paws in the second picture.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 14:33:24

    The socks look fantastic! Great job on this project.

    Reply

  4. iggystar71
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 14:47:06

    Your stripes don’t match! *ducks down* Just teasing! It didn’t dawn on me that stripey socks don’t really have to match until I heard the last podcast episode. It was like a light switch…handmade socks that don’t match could equal, FUN! (Like these socks, which totally are just that.)

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 16:10:00

      Handmade socks that don’t match are super fun! It makes you look twice at them! Although, I bought some self-striping yarn from KirbyWirby recently and I’m not sure if I’m going to make those match up or not (probably not – hehehehehe!).

      Reply

  5. Julie Rose
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 19:14:35

    Beautiful! I love the light blue stripes next to the darker blue. And that second picture is adorable! (Does Bailey need some teeny tiny matching socks? I’m sorry, I don’t mean to encourage you to be THAT knitter. ๐Ÿ˜€ )

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Feb 21, 2013 @ 10:40:21

      Its a cute colorway right!? Not amazing but the more I look at them the more I loke the colorway.

      Bailey loves socks…looooooooooooooooooves socks….as chew toys. The little monster!!! I do think about making him sweaters…not going to lie about it!

      Reply

  6. kimmery4
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 12:16:53

    Congrats on your first pair of socks! You are a real knitter now. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    *smiles*

    Reply

  7. Minding My Own Stitches
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 05:32:35

    The world is yours! And what a happy thing – all that sock yarn in your closet! I’ve knit sweater, cardigan and socks but I still struggle to get the fit just right. The day I can do THAT I’ll call myself a real knitter ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  8. Angela Hockabout - Knit Luck
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 19:08:46

    Socks have a funny way of randomly appearing like that. One day you just decide that it’s wrong for a project to remain unfinished and then out of seeming nowhere you end up with a pair of socks. Congratulations. New socks. That’s a good thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

