Out with the New

Remember last year when I got my new sewing machine? If not, feel my excitement here. I was soooooo excited because it was a super fancy, electronic, bells and whistle extravaganza Brother sewing machine with features I’ve never seen before. I oooooooohed. I ahhhhhhhhed.

Fast forward one month and a couple of weeks outside of my one year warranty…can you guess what happened?

If you guessed it started to crap out you win!

Mid project, I was sewing along and the needle started to shake and seize up. Then the damn thing stopped and beeped at me. BEEPED AT ME. I turned it off and tried sewing again.

More seizing, more stopping, more beeping.

I realized that something was seriously wrong immediately. And by “seriously wrong” I mean really expensive to fix.

Fast forward a couple of days…I called my local authorized Brother repair shop and asked how much it would take to fix my sewing machine – roughly. Guy on the phones says to me, “Well, the basic service fee is $169 and we always do the basic service. Anything else we have to do to make your machine work is going to be extra labor and possibly extra parts costs.”

Things only got better when I explained to him what was wrong with my machine and what type of machine I have, “Ooooooooo, it sounds like you have a MAJOR PROBLEM. You need to buy a new machine.” He called my model disposable. *tears*

To be honest, I figured that was going to be the case so I’d been looking at new machines the moment my Brother crapped out. I knew that fixing my machine was going to be costly and it simply didn’t make sense to spend more money to fix my machine than it cost to buy the damn thing to begin with. Soooooo…

Ta-daaaaaainsertjazzhandshereaaaaaaaaaa! My new sewing machine – a Singer 7258 Stylist


Yuppppppers. New machine.

I found this one on sale for $169.00 on Amazon.com (yup the minimum it was going to cost to fix my Brother machine).

But check this – before I ordered my new fanciness, I was going to try and take my Brother machine to the shop and turn it in for credit last Saturday. My Dad, at first, volunteered to drive to the service shop with me to look at new machines. But, when he heard I wanted to go super early in the morning and that I was already eyeballing the Singer for the price of getting my machine serviced, he offered to buy it for me.

AWESOMESACUE RIGHT!?

Everyone is a winner! My Dad didn’t have to ride to Huntington Beach and I got a new machine!

Keep calm and sew on people!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kristieinbc
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 08:38:44

    How frustrating to have such a new machine die, and just outside your warranty period. Ugh. I’m glad you found a nice, new machine at a good price to replace the old one.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 09:43:34

    Well, isn’t this a mash-up of sad and happy news. I’m sorry you had to replace your machine so quickly after purchasing it. Hopefully, the new one is a bit more resilient.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 10:41:17

      RIGHT!? Hopefully Singer is back to its old glory days of awesomesaunceness and will last for many years to come. I feel a little better about the Singer too – my mom and grandmother rocked the Singers for years and that’s what I learned on. It also has a 25 year labor warranty on top of a one year all included standard warranty.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Keep Calm and Sew On | cheletopia
  4. Daisy
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 11:53:14

    New sewing machines scare the crap out of me. They’re so expensive and I hear all these stories about them breaking down at the drop of a hat. This is my baby: http://daisyw.net/misc/2013-02-20-morse-sm.jpg Doesn’t do the fancier stuff that new machines can do but it runs really, really well. The case looks like hell, though. I have a plastic case that’s from about the same era or a little newer maybe, just need to get around to cleaning it up and moving the machine into it.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 13:11:00

      I understand being scared about them breaking down – TRUST THAT!!! But don’t let the price scare you away from trying one. They are very reasonable on Amazon.com. Even though it died on me, my Brothers machine was originally $450 and I got it for $160 on sale on Amazon. Same with the new Singer – SALE PRICE!!!

      Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 13:13:09

      btw…your sewing machine is AWESOME!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

