Keep Calm and Sew On

Timing is everything, right? Well the timing of my Brother sewing machine crapping out on me sucked. I was literally in the middle of a project/seam. Not cool. Not cool at all. Luckily for me, I never got rid of my old machine that my Dad bought for me for my birthday YEAAAARS ago – 10 years? 12 years? So to finish my project and to get thru until I got my new machine, I broke out my old Kenmore sewing machine (it doesn’t go backwards but whatevs).

Unfortunately, the Kenmore has an UGLY and dirty hardcover and the new Singer has a boring and soft plastic cover, so I wanted a new cover for them. I’d been looking for sewing machine dust cover tutorial for a while and just couldn’t find one to my liking. But, in the midst of my sewing machine hubbub, I came across this awesome tutorial from The Crafty Gemini here.


Cute, right!? This tutorial gives you all the basics you need to know to make a simple cover so that you can make it as simple or as super fancy as you would like. I went with the Keep Calm and Sew On fabric from Michael Levine because not only is it HILARIOUS, its perfect for this project.


I was going to use the material all the way around, but realized that it would have been toooooo much. Too, too much. So instead, I went stash diving and dug up this colorful fabric (which I used for Charlotte’s boxy bag for the bag challenge last year) for the top and side panels. I was so happy when I saw how closely the colors matched up!


Check out and follow The Crafty Gemini on YouTube – she’s awesome!!

Keep Calm and Stitch On y’all!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 07:29:44

    I LOVE the fabric you used for your dust cover! I’m so glad to read you’re back to sewing. And, yes, I did change my url, but I didn’t disappear. πŸ˜€ I’m sorry to have made it hard to track me down, but I’m so happy you found me. πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 10:18:28

      Thanks! I can’t lie – sometimes I just peak my head into my crafty room just to look at that fabric. I totally cracks me up, makes me smile and makes me want to sew!

      So glad I found your new URL too! Us Micheles have to stick together!

      Reply

  2. Lisa
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 11:51:43

    I know the feeling of a sewing machine dying when you need it the most, a few years a go I was making a dress for a festival, and I had 5 days left to do all the sticting, and while doing the first seam, my machine died. Luckily I could use a machine from my sewingteacher in her classroom, otherwise it would have been a disaster.
    BTW you used lovely fabric, very fun.

    Reply

  3. Creatively Motivated
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 07:34:49

    Ohhh my! I simply love this fabric. Where did you find it?
    Nizzy

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 10:41:37

      I found it at Michael Levine in Downtown Los Angeles. You can also find it on Etsy if you search for something like “Keep Calm and Sew On”. Good luck!

      Reply

  4. Pumpkin
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 15:35:57

    You ordered a Singer? From what I’ve heard from fans, excellent choice! Your new cover looks great! I like how it is bright and visually interesting, it certainly draws the eye and the fabric choice is genius. And thank you so much for your kind words on my last post, you are such a wonderful person and I consider myself so lucky to know you : )

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Apr 29, 2013 @ 09:35:53

      Yup! Back to Singer! So far I’m really pleased with it and I’m crossing my fingers that it will bring me many, many years of sewing goodness.

      Thanks honey *hugs*
      =D

      Reply

  5. Mary Hooker Brogdon
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 10:46:29

    Ooo, I like, I like!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

