Mallard

Pattern: Star Crossed Slouchy Beret by Natalie Larson (my project: Mallard)
Yarn: Red Heart With Love
Colorway: Mallard
Needles: US 9 & US 10 ½ – 16 inch circulars and 40 inch circular for crown
Dates: April 20 to 27, 2013

Notes: Although this is the 4th time I’ve made this hat (first, second, and third versions), I still loved making it. Its fast, super cute and my go to gift hat pattern. This one is for my friend Rachelle who wanted a beanie for chilly mornings when walking her dog (is does get chilly in Los Angeles!).


Red Heart yarn…..I know, I know. You should know by now, I’m so not a yarn snob. I like it all! This stuff is actually really soft (and machine washable & dryable – which was key). It was the teal color that got me! The color is rich and beautiful and I think it will look great on my friend.


If you’ve never done cables this is a great beginner’s project. It’s a simple cable pattern and the cables are on a bed of stockinette (instead of purls). Just knit, knit, knit, cable, knit knit knit knit knit knit, cable, etc.

This is a Epic KALCAL project!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daisy
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 21:26:45

    I love this hat! I think I might have queued it a while back but never got around to making it — I’ve been trying to find the perfect non-curl-squashing hat.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      May 01, 2013 @ 05:53:52

      As you can tell, I love this hat. Even though I didn’t block it out this time (hellllo! Red Heart!) I’ve done so in the past and it makes it more beret like. Meaning – blocking this hat would make it more of a super non-curl-squashing hat. (Oh and use a light weight worsted like the Ultra Alpaca too. It will make it light, but warm with plenty of room for curly hair goodness.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

