Taste Like Candy

Pattern: Candy: Stripes and Sprinkles by Tori Gurbisz (my project: Taste Like Candy)
Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted
Colorway: Déjà Vu and Uva
Needles: US 7
Dates: April 30, 2013 to May 14, 2013
Skills: Basic knitting skills plus increasing stitches, picking up stitches, 1×1 ribbing and making buttonholes

Notes: Love this hat! This hat is knitted flat either with stripes or a brioche-ish type pattern. I loooooooove the Déjà Vu colorway as it is, so instead of striping it with another color I striped it against its self (just knit from both ends of the cake). This made for a cool look and it kept the colors from pooling up. And let me just say, the flat construction of this hat is awesome because it allowed for a WORKING BUTTONBAND!


EEEEEEEE! BUTTONS!!!! And orange buttons to boot. I opted for these bright babies because there’s a little pop of orange in the main colorway and the buttons just help it stand out a little bit more. I love them and it doesn’t hurt that my Dad helped me pick them out too!

I want to make this hat again because I want to do the sprinkle/brioche type stitch with another hank of Malabrigo Worsted (in Charrua) that I have that I think would benefit greatly from the stitch and look ADORABLE in this pattern.

So if you’re looking for a fast, cute and different type beanie this is for you. And seriously, can you have too many cute as a button beanies?

Oh, and check out Tori Gurbisz’s Ravelry designer page. I have a couple of her patterns and they all have a little creative twist. I like her stuff a ton and can’t wait to work up some of her other patterns – especially Ovate and Sweet Shoppe Shawlette. Check her out!

This is a Epic Kal/Cal project!
 (I thought this was on my YOP list but apparentllllly, no.)

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 20, 2013 @ 05:15:00

    Oh what a really cute hat ! As someone who seems to always have to knit a few I’m always on the look out for something cute and different so I’ll add this straight to my favourites pile. I love the pop of the orange against the darker purple button band !

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    May 20, 2013 @ 06:58:36

    Do you feel the buttons? I’m thinking of a hat fitting snuggling and wondering about that. Love the color combination.

    Reply

  3. kristieinbc
    May 20, 2013 @ 07:32:39

    That is an awesome hat! I am heading to Ravelry to put it in my queue. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:39:20

    Very cute! I LOVE the buttons you chose to adorn it.

    Reply

  5. Minding My Own Stitches
    May 20, 2013 @ 14:34:37

    That’s an awesome hat. Never seen one with a buttonband before. And I think the orange buttons are perfect!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Malabrigo Mitts | cheletopia

Leave a Reply

