Malabrigo Mitts


Pattern: Adeline Fingerless Mitts with Faux Cables by CrochetDreamz (my project: Malabrigo Mitts)
Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Worsted
Colorway: Uva
Fiber: 100% Merino Wool
Hook: US H (5.0mm)
Dates: January 5th to January 12th
Skill Level: Medium (basic crochet skills, slip stitch & using single [back] loops)

Notes: These are soooo soft and squishy and the perfect size. The Malabrigo was in my stash as leftover yarn from the trim of my Taste Like Candy hat. I wasn’t completely sure that I had enough yarn leftover to make these as written, so I shortened them just a tad by four cast-on chains and in turn, the bottom half of the faux cable. I ended up having more than enough yarn with this modification.


I really like that the pattern used the back loop technique instead of both loops to build ridges and the use of slip stitches instead of single crochet stitches is also super cool. It made for a very cool texture with well defined ridges. The making of the faux cables was insanely easy. Like it’s hilarious how easy they were to make. But I like the effect that they have on the overall project – gotta love it when a little effort gives you a big bang!


Adorable, right!?

Oh, and let me just add this: this yarn is amazaballs!!! Understand, the weather in LA is so not fingerless mitt weather at the moment. Like its getting up into the 70’s and 80’s by the middle of the afternoon (life in Los Angeles – tough). But does that stop me from randomly putting them on and walking around my warm craft room just because they are super amazingly soft and awesome? HELL NO. I seriously wish I could make everything in life out of this stuff. EVERYTHANG!


Malabrigo Worsted Deja Vu & Uva. Literally the most awesome stuff ever. EVAH.

This is an EpicKALCAL project!!!  =)

Leave a Reply

