Spirit Lifting Socks

Pattern: Learn to Knit Toe-Up Socks Pattern + Instructional Videos by Staci Perry/Very Pink (my project: Spirit Lifting Socks)
Yarn: Bernet Mosaic
Colorway: Fantasy
Fiber: 100% Acrylic
Needles: US 5 (3.75 mm) 40″ circulars
Dates: March 16th to April 1st

Notes: Okay, these socks are super easy and awesome to make. Staci Perry’s patterns are awesome, the videos are super helpful and it doesn’t hurt that they’re done in worsted weight. I always recommend Staci’s sock tutorials to newbies looking to do their first socks and people love them. It takes the mystery out of sock construction whether its cuff down or toe up; on dpns or circular needles; or one-at-a-time or two-at-a-time. Annnnnnd you get the whole instant gratification awesomesauceness feeling because they work up super quickly with worsted weight yarn. Needless to say, I totally recommend this pattern or any of the Staci Perry’s sock patterns with mucho amounts of zeal.

However, I totally screwed these socks up. I’m very aware that I’m a loose knitter and I should have totally gone down one or two needle sizes. But I didn’t. And not doing this totally caused a bunch of problems.

First of all, the toe area is too big for me. I think this problem stems from not using the right sized needles and the toe area being a little too square for the shape of my feet. I loved making the toe she teaches you and I love the way that it looks (seamless without having to fuss with the whole kitchner weaving crap), it just doesn’t fit my feet.



I love the method that this pattern uses to turn the heal but it gives you tiny holes up the side of the heel of the sock. I think it would look great when done either on the correct size needles and/or not in worsted weight yarn. However, my holes are big. Boo.


The ribbing isn’t tight enough because, again, wrong needle size. This also makes the recommended bind-off SUUUUPER stretchy and gives it a SUUUUPER loose edging. No bueno. So I tried two different bind-offs instead: a regular bind-off (far too tight) and a crochet bind-off (not so bad but not the best option for socks).


Even though these socks are not the best FO, they were a great learning project! I’ve never done toe-up socks before and I’ve been very wary of them. But now, I’m totally looking forward to trying another pair!!!

Stupid guage.

Leave a Reply

