Film Noir

After about a year of sewing and researching and pinning…booooom, I have a quilt.


Ahhhhhh! I made a quilt! I made a quilt! I made a quilt!

This is a super easy quilt top (1600 Jelly Roll Race Quilt Top Tutorial) with simple quilting and binding. But of course it took me FOREVAH! It’s not that it was difficult at all, I just took baby steps in doing it. And I researched the shit out of each baby step. And over thought each baby step. Also, doing the binding by hand didn’t move things along with great speed either (blanket stitch on the machine next time for sure!).

Ugh, me and my “process”!

But look!!! A quilt with all kinds of crinkly goodness – that I made!


I decided to name it “Film Noir” because it reminds me of the old school black and white Hollywood detective/crime movies and tv shows (The Saint, Peter Gunn, Manchurian Candidate – the original version with Frank Sinatra, etc.). The technical definition of Film Noir includes the words “low-key black-and-white” which this quilt totally is. The black is pretty black but there are a lot nice grays and the white is way more of a cream than anything. The deep burgundy backing – a nod to the notorious femme fatales of this classic cinematic genre. Even in black and white you knew that their lipstick was dark and sexy.

Time to cuddle up with the puppy and watch some Perry Mason!

Quilt from above

(It’s 62 inches long by 51 inches wide)

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmely
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 00:01:22

    It looks really good! Good luck on your next quilt! Now that you’ve done all the steps once the next one should go faster.

    Reply

  2. Stitched Together
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 03:05:14

    It’s gorgeous. Congratulations, I know what that first quilt satisfaction feels like. Nothing beats it.

    Reply

  3. Jill B.
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 12:49:07

    Looks great Michele! What’s next? 😉

    Reply

  4. wombatquilts
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 18:31:57

    Love the monochrome modern feel of this quilt. A great finish.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: EPISODE 39 – PEPSI & RED WINE | SkeinAfterSkein
  6. Alyssa
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 06:30:47

    Love how your quilt turned out! I have a jelly roll I’ve been wanting to do a race with but I’m a bit of a control freak and worried I won’t like the end result. Did you sew your strips straight off the roll or did you mix them up first? I love how your colors are throughout the whole quilt and not bunched up together.

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 14, 2014 @ 12:09:27

      I’m kinda a control freak also so I understand! The only thing I really did was to make sure that I didn’t put two of the same strips of fabric back-to-back when I did the first step of attaching all of the pieces together. After that, I just let what happen, happen. I initially wanted none of the colors to touch but there’s no way to control it. Just let it do what it do!

      Reply

Leave a comment