Bagapalooza

Hmmmmm, fabric stash enhancements have been made…


Yummy, right? I swear, fabric is a sweet, sweet drug.

But unlike my yarn stash (which is slowly getting out. of. control.), I actually can use up my fabric fairly quick.

See! Already making a dent!


So first I whipped up some adorable boxy project bags for both Eve and I (mine on the left and Eve’s on the right). I combined two patterns together to make these little boxy numbers: Boxie Pouch Tutorial and Cosmetic Bag Tutorial. I like the no guts of the first pattern but I like the corner construction of the second pattern. I also made them nice and roomy – these guys are roughly 10.5″ long, 9″ wide and 4.5″ tall. So rooooomy.

I also made some of these too!


I originally made both of these for me because I was just testing out the pattern for future gifts and contest prizes, but Eve really fell for the red floral pouch. So hers it will be!

I have to say, I reallllllly like this pattern – DIY Pouch Sewing Tutorials – and its results. It was recommended to me by Amy Beth from The Fat Squirrel Speaks and its perfect – not a modification needed. I used home decor fabric (bird and vine) and outside decor fabric (red floral) for the outsides and twill for the lining without any interfacing. They whipped up super fast, which is good because I’m not the fastest seamstress in the world. But you can easily knock one of these out in an evening with the most basic sewing experience. (Do it!)

I used the measurements for the large version and they came out 13″ long on the top, 7.5″ long on the bottom, 5.5″ wide on the top and 7.5″ tall. A great size for a number of different knitting/crochet projects and any other trinkets you may want to stash into it. I so see myself making a ton of these in the future. TONS. TOOOOONS.

Must make all the bags!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cloudsfullofrain
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 07:31:56

    That fabric is just beautiful! Great projects too.

    Reply

  2. Meredith
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 09:31:14

    Your bags are wonderful! I think I must make some … For what purpose, I have no idea, but I love them! Thanks for sharing the links!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 17, 2013 @ 21:50:33

      Purpose-smurpose!!! These are bags are good for all sorts of yumminess. If you’re anything like me you’ll totally find a something to stash in them within minutes of finishing them. =)

      Reply

  3. Michelle
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 09:56:58

    Oooooo… AHHHHHH!!! PRETTY! I’m working to get my fabric under control at the moment. Not an easy undertaking.

    Reply

  4. Therese Schirmer
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 07:30:34

    Gosh, I love that fabric with the guards and London Bridge and Big Ben on it. That is so stinkin’ cute! Love the bags, they are so addicting to make!

    Reply

    • cheletopia
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 10:06:18

      Its highly possible that I freaked in the store when I saw that fabric! I have to admit that its even cuter in person. I can’t wait to find a pattern/project that will show that fabric off.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Colorize

Leave a comment